Student Scholarships and Research Assistantships

Anthropology majors and Classical Studies minors may apply for departmental awards to conduct independent research or to work with a faculty member. The goal of this program is to provide undergraduates with opportunities to learn how research is done and to gain professional experience in the field.

Projects include (but are not limited to): participation in archaeological excavations, cultural anthropological field studies, classical studies research abroad, field schools, travel to meetings where the student is presenting a paper, and independent library research involving travel or significant research off-campus. Students should work with a faculty advisor to complete the required documents.

Click on Scholarship Application or Research Assistantship Application to access forms online. Hard copy forms are also available in the department office.

The fall 2015 deadline for applications for student scholarships and assistantships is April 15, 2015.


The Awards Committee consists of the Department Chair and one elected representative each from Archaeology, Classical Studies, Cultural Anthropology, and Physical Anthropology. Three members present constitute a quorum for meetings.

The Committee solicits and evaluates applications from students and faculty for scholarships and research. Applications are considered on two deadlines each year: mid-April and mid-October. Because much research and associated travel falls in the summer, generally more funds will be awarded in April than October.

Students may receive no more than two awards. Requests may not occur on consecutive deadlines. All requests are evaluated; the act of submitting a request does not guarantee an award. No single criterion governs evaluation, but the Committee will rank proposals in descending order as follows:

  •  Student-initiated proposals and external studies;
  •  Student-initiated proposals that involve close collaboration with a  faculty member

Applications must be received by the deadline, and on the departmental forms designed for this purpose.

Click on Scholarship Application or Research Assistantship Application to access forms online. Hard copy forms are also available in the department office.

The application must include the student’s statement of interest and research, along with details of the student’s program of study (course background, major/minor, GPA, career plans). Proposals that involve collaboration with or supervision by faculty require an associated proposal by that faculty member.

Award amounts will vary depending upon the project and student need. Generally, Scholarship awards will not exceed approximately $3,000, and Research Awards will not exceed $7,500 per academic year.  Awardees must accept awards in writing (not by e-mail) within one week of notification.

At the end of the project for which funds are awarded, the recipient will make a presentation to the Department. Presentation setting, format and date will be determined by the Committee. Recipients who fail to comply with this requirement will be ineligible for future awards.

Current Scholarship Recipients

Will post in April, 2015

Former Scholarship Recipients

Geniro Dingle and Angeline Ruiz were each awarded a Robert Little Fellowship for fall 2014.

Jillian Bryson and Geniro Dingle were awarded the ACS anonymously endowed AY2014-2015 Undergraduate Research Assistantship in Anthropology.

Emily Holbrook and Megan Powley were awarded the ACS anonymously endowed AY2013-2014 Undergraduate Research Assistantship in Anthropology.

Sarah Stepnowski was awarded the ACS anonymously endowed AY2012-2013 Undergraduate Research Assistantship in Anthropology. An abstract of her research is available by clicking on this link.

Maggie Sheehan was awarded the ACS anonymously endowed AY2011-2012 Undergraduate Research Assistantship in Anthropology.

The Conrad Copeland Reining Memorial Fund and The Emily Harpham Fund scholarships were awarded to Lucas Wright and Kayt Roberto.

Spring 2011 Robert Little Fellowships were awarded to Gabrielle McCallum, Vyshnavi Sivakumaran, and Michael Vimont.

The Oelschlager scholarship was awarded to two ACS  majors, Rachel Fox and Kristin Snyder.

Former Scholarship Recipient News

Andrew Bauer

Dr. Andrew Bauer (B.A. in Interdisciplinary Anthropology, 2000, Summa cum laude) received his M.A. (2003) and Ph.D. (2010) from the Department of Anthropology at the University of Chicago. His doctoral research explored the political ecology and production of social differentiation in south India during the Iron Age. He received two prestigious National Science Foundation doctoral dissertation research fellowships and was recently awarded the 2010 Outstanding Oral Presentation Award from the Geological Society of America. Dr. Bauer published nine journal articles and book chapters on archaeology as a graduate student and currently has a book contract for an edited volume entitled The Archaeology of Politics: The Materiality of Political Practice and Action in the Past. As an undergraduate at The University of Akron, Dr. Bauer worked for four years on Dr. Matney’s excavations in Turkey; his subsequent fieldwork has taken him to Iran and India. His current fieldwork in India is featured in Archaeology magazine (May/June 2010).

Financial Aid Information

For information on Financial Aid, please contact the UA Financial Aid Office.