Office of the Dean: Directory

Meet the Dean

As interim dean of the College of Arts and Science at The University of Akron, Dr. John Green oversees multiple academic units, centers and institutes. The College offers more than 80 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in the areas of fine arts, humanities, social sciences and natural sciences. With over 4,000 students, the College of Arts and Sciences has a large presence on our campus and is considered the heart of the University.

Dr. Green holds the rank of distinguished professor in the Department of Political Science, where he previously served as the department chair. He also serves as the director of the Ray C. Bliss Institute for Applied Politics. Dr. Green holds a Ph.D. in political science from Cornell University and a B.A. in economics from the University of Colorado, Boulder. He has been recognized as an outstanding faculty member at The University of Akron.

Interim Dean John Green 
John Green, Ph.D., Interim Dean
Phone: 330-972-7857
Email: green@uakron.edu


Senior Administration

Bill Lyons
Bill Lyons, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Division of Social Sciences
Professor of Political Science
Phone:  330-972-5855
 

J. Thomas Dukes, Ph.D.
Interim Associate Dean, Division of Fine Arts
Professor Emeritus of English
Phone: 330-972-5761
Email:jtdukes@uakron.edu


David Steer

David N. Steer, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Division of Natural Sciences
Professor of Geosciences
Phone: 330-972-2099
Email: steer@uakron.edu

Linda Subich
 
 
Linda M. Subich, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies
Professor of Psychology
Phone: 330-972-8379
Email: subich@uakron.edu
 
 
Sheldon Wrice

 

Sheldon Wrice, Ed.D.
Associate Dean, Multi- Disciplinary Studies & Diversity
Interim Associate Dean, Division of Humanities
Professor, Technical Writing & Composition
Phone: 330-972-6023

 
 
 

Professional Staff

Donald Welch
Donald Welch, M.S.
Director, Operations & Technology
Phone:  330-972-7937
 
Ashley Rini, M.S.
Director, Pre-Health Advising
Phone:  330-972-6513

Office Staff

Cathy Moore
Coordinator, Administrative Services
Phone: 330-972-7857
Email: cathy1@uakron.edu
Edie Barnes
Program Specialist
Phone: 330-972-7881
Email: esb@uakron.edu


Tina Fiocca
Program Specialist
Phone: 330-972-7882
Email: tfiocca@uakron.edu

 

Academic Advisers

Louise Kazmier, MEd
Phone: 330-972-8624
Email: lak@uakron.edu

Mary Kay McElhinny,MSW
Phone: 
330-972-7834
Email: mmcelhinny@uakron.edu

Joe Minocchi, MA
Phone:  
330-972-5865
Email:  
jminocchi@uakron.edu
 Katie Timperio, MA
Phone:  
330-972-5959
Email:  
kat1@uakron.edu

 
Brittany Thomas, M.S.Ed.
Phone: 330-972-5196
Email: bthomas1@uakron.edu

 

 
Tailyn Walborn, M.S.Ed.
Phone: 
330-972-7496
Email: taw48@uakron.edu