AccountancyJAB2014

Junior Advisory Board

Who We Are

The Junior Advisory Board is a group of motivated young professionals who are friends and alumni of The University of Akron representing small, mid, and large size public accounting firms and companies.

What We Do

The Junior Advisory Board seeks to bridge the gap between the students and professionals. Members work with the university's accounting students to assist in their professional development.

Our History

Founded in 2008 with seven original members, the Junior Advisory Board has continued to expand each year in membership and impact.

Scholarships

In addition to assisting students with their professional development, we are excited to have the opportunity to provide financial support. A Junior Advisory Board Scholarship has been created with a minimum of $1,000 to be awarded yearly at the Spring Accounting Awards Banquet.

Events

The Junior Advisory Board coordinates two events a year for students. In the fall, we host tailgating event for the home coming football game to provide networking between the students and board. The spring cornhole tournament provides students the opportunity to interact with local professionals in a fun and relaxing atmosphere. In addition to these events, we also assist with mock interviews in the fall and provide mentoring opportunities.

New Members

We are actively recruiting new members to the Junior Advisory Board. Fees are set at $200 per individual and will be pro-rated based on start date. New members can join twice a year in January and June.

Membership on the Junior Advisory Board presents the opportunity for valuable brand awareness for your firm and face-time with students/potential recruiting candidates. Contact an officer for additional information.

2014-2015 Officers

Kristian Doty, CPA, MSA: President
Brockman, Coats, Gedelian & Co.
kristian.doty@bcgcompany.com

Staci Shapiro, CPA: Vice President
Plante Moran, LLC
staci.shapiro@plantemoran.com

Maureen Aebi, CPA: Treasurer
Brockman, Coats, Gedelian & Co.
maureen.aebi@bcgcompany.com

Ian MacEwen, CPA, MSA: Secretary
Brockman, Coats, Gedelian & Co.
ian.macewen@bcgcompany.com

Current Members

Sarah Byler, MT
William E. Erb CPA & Associates
bylsarah@gmail.com

Christopher J. Garman, CPA, MT
Grant Thornton LLP
chris.garman@us.gt.com

Brandon Hickey, MT
Grant Thornton LLP
brandon.hickey@us.gt.com

Chad Johnson, CPA, MT
Deloitte & Touche, LLP
cjohnson@deloitte.com

Current Members Continued

Heidi Reed
Brockman, Coats, Gedelian & Co.
heidi.reed@bcgcompany.com

Zach Rospert, MT
Deloitte & Touche, LLP
zrospert@deloitte.com

Matt Turner, MT
Novogradac & Company
matthew.turner@novoco.com

Krystle Vaughn, CPA, MSA
Deloitte & Touche, LLP
krvaughn@deloitte.com

Ryan Wasylik, MSA
A. Schulman, Inc.
ryan.wasylik@us.aschulman.com