Faculty

Faculty - College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering

Dr. Matthew Becker
Associate Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-2834
becker@uakron.edu


Dr. Mukerrem Cakmak
Harold A. Morton Chair, Distinguished Professor; Director, Center for Multifunctional Polymer Nanomaterials
and Devices (UA site)

Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-6928
cakmak1@uakron.edu


Dr. Gustavo A. Carri
Associate Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7509
gac@uakron.edu


Dr. Kevin Cavicchi
Associate Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-8368
kac58@uakron.edu


Dr. Stephen Z.D. Cheng
Dean, College of Polymer Science & Polymer Engineering; R.C. Musson Professor; Trustees Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7500
scheng@uakron.edu


Dr. Steven S.C. Chuang
Director, FirstEnergy Advanced Energy Research Center; Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-6993
schuang@uakron.edu


Dr. Ali Dhinojwala
Morton Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-6246
ali4@uakron.edu


Dr. Frank Douglas
University Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-572-7544
fdouglas@bioinnovationinstitute.org


Dr. Mark D. Foster
Associate Dean for Programs, Policy, and Engagement; Director of the Akron Global Polymer Academy; Thomas A. Knowles Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-5323
mdf1@uakron.edu


Dr. Xiong Gong
Assistant Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-4983
xgong@uakron.edu


Dr. Purushottam D. Gujrati
Professor, Physics and Polymer Science
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7136
pdg@uakron.edu


Dr. Gary R. Hamed
Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-6831
hamed@uakron.edu


Dr. Hendrik Heinz
Associate Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-7467
hendrik.heinz@uakron.edu


Dr. Avraam I. Isayev
Distinguished Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-6673
aisayev@uakron.edu


Dr. Sadhan C. Jana
Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-8293
janas@uakron.edu


Dr. Li Jia
Associate Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7511
ljia@uakron.edu


Dr. Abraham Joy
Assistant Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-6004
abraham@uakron.edu


Dr. Alamgir Karim
Associate Dean for Research, College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering; The Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-8324
alamgir@uakron.edu


Dr. Joseph P. Kennedy
Distinguished Professor of Polymer Science and Chemistry
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7512
josep19@uakron.edu


Dr. Thein Kyu
Distinguished Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-6672
tkyu@uakron.edu


Dr. William J. Landis
Professor; G. Stafford Whitby Chair
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-8483
wlandis@uakron.edu


Dr. Arkady I. Leonov
Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-5138
leonov@uakron.edu


Dr. Tianbo Liu
A. Schulman Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-3496
tliu@uakron.edu


Dr. Younjin Min
Assistant Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-5167
ymin@uakron.edu


Dr. Toshikazu Miyoshi
Associate Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-6269
miyoshi@uakron.edu


Dr. George R. Newkome
Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School; Professor of Polymer Science and Chemistry; Intellectual Property Fellow; James and Vanita Oelschlager Professor of Science and Technology
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-6458
newkome@uakron.edu


Dr. Coleen Pugh
Department of Polymer Science Interim Chair; Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-6614
cpugh@uakron.edu


Dr. Judit E. Puskas
Ph.D., Professional Engineer; Professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-6203
jpuskas@uakron.edu


Dr. Darrell H. Reneker
Distinguished Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-6949
reneker@uakron.edu


Dr. Nita Sahai
Ohio Research Scholar Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-5795
sahai@uakron.edu


Dr. Erol Sancaktar
Professor;
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-5508
erol@uakron.edu


Dr. David Simmons
Assistant Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-6675
dsimmon@uakron.edu


Dr. Mark D. Soucek
Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-2583
msoucek@uakron.edu


Dr. Mesfin Tsige
Associate Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-5631
mtsige@uakron.edu


Dr. Bryan Vogt
Associate Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-8608
vogt@uakron.edu


Dr. Shi-Qing Wang
Kumho Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7108
swang@uakron.edu


Ms. Marcia E. Weidknecht
Senior Instructor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7093
marcia3@uakron.edu


Dr. Robert Weiss
Department of Polymer Engineering Chair; Hezzleton E. Simmons Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-2581
rweiss@uakron.edu


Dr. Chrys Wesdemiotis
Distinguished Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7699
wesdemiotis@uakron.edu


Dr. Nicole Zacharia
Assistant Professor
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-8248
nzacharia@uakron.edu


Dr. Yu Zhu
Assistant Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-5945
yzhu@uakron.edu


Click here for Faculty Awards & Honors




Emeritus Faculty - College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering

Dr. John E. Frederick
Professor Emeritus
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7542
 


Dr. Chang Dae "Paul" Han
Professor Emeritus
Department of Polymer Engineering
330-972-6468
cdhan@uakron.edu


Dr. Frank N. Harris
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Polymer Science and Biomedical Engineering (Part time)
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-5459
 


Dr. H. James Harwood
Professor Emeritus of Polymer Science
and Chemistry

Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7506
harwood@uakron.edu


Dr. Frank N. Kelley
Dean Emeritus, College of Polymer Science & Polymer Engineering; Professor Emeritus
College of Poly Sci and Poly Eng
kelleyf@uakron.edu
 


Dr. Wayne L. Mattice
Professor Emeritus
Department of Polymer Science
lkb@uakron.edu
 


Dr. Donald McIntyre
Professor Emeritus
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7542
 


Dr. Eberhard A. Meinecke
Professor Emeritus of Polymer Science and Mechanical Engineering
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7542
 


Dr. Nobuyuki Nakajima
Professor Emeritus
Department of Polymer Engineering
nakajim@uakron.edu
 


Dr. Roderic P. Quirk
Research Professor and Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7510
rpquirk@uakron.edu


Dr. Rudolph J. Scavuzzo, Jr.
Professor Emeritus
Department of Polymer Engineering
rscrud@aol.com
 


Dr. Howard L. Stephens
Professor Emeritus of Polymer Science
and Chemistry

Department of Polymer Science
330-972-7542
 


Dr. Ernst D. von Meerwall
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Physics, Chemistry, and Polymer Science
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-5290
evonmee@uakron.edu


To contact an Emeritus faculty member, please email cpspe@uakron.edu.




Adjunct Faculty - College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering

Dr. Mary Ann B. Meador
Adjunct Professor; Senior Research Scientist, NASA Glenn Research Center
Department of Polymer Engineering
216-433-3221
maryann.meador@nasa.gov


Dr. Alexei Sokolov
Adjunct Thomas A. Knowles Professor
Department of Polymer Science
330-972-8409
alexei@uakron.edu


The University of Akron

Akron, OH 44325
Phone: 330-972-7111
Contact us
Send mail & deliveries to UA
Text-Only