UA to Receive $5.9 Million Wright Center of Innovation Award


A collaborative team of The University of Akron, Ohio State University and The University of Dayton have been awarded a $22.5 million grant from Ohio's Third Frontier, Wright Centers of Innovation program. $5.9 million will come to The University of Akron to establish a high technology polymer processing laboratory. Professor Miko Cakmak of UA's Department of Polymer Engineering was a principal author of the proposal and will serve as the Site Director for the laboratory. Professor Frank Harris of the Department of Polymer Science led UA's proposal effort in Polymer Photonics and will be the Photonics Team Leader for all of the partner universities. The winning proposal involved substantial matching funds and in-kind contributions from the universities and many corporations.