About the College of Education

  • UA has one of the largest educator preparation programs in Ohio.
  • We offer over 57 initial teacher licensure programs that prepare highly qualified teachers.
  • We are recognized leaders in STEM initiatives. 
  • Our Curricular and Instructional Studies (CIS) department is comprised of 24 faculty members, including three Clinical Faculty, who have established connections and supervisory experience in partner schools and districts.

Our educators are prepared to work in diverse settings with a focus on critical thinking, reflective practice, equity and excellence.

Program Benefits

  • $30,000 stipend to defray living expenses
  • A one-year exemplary teacher preparation program
  • A three-year induction mentoring experience
  • Individual attention from university faculty and classroom teachers while in a clinical-immersion program.

Change your world by changing theirs. Teach.

Three happy students

The Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship

The Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship seeks to transform teacher preparation programs and bring new talent into Ohio's high-need rural and urban high schools to address significant shortages of mathematics and science teachers.


The Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship seeks to attract talented, committed individuals with backgrounds in the STEM fields - science, technology, engineering, and mathematics - into teaching in high-need Ohio high schools.

Program Overview

The Fellowship offers rigorous disciplinary (content) and pedagogical preparation (how to teach), extensive clinical experiences in the classroom, and ongoing mentoring. The University of Akron will redesign our teacher preparation curricula in order to meet these standards. The preparation of the Fellows will occur in high-need secondary schools within partnering school districts like those where you will eventually teach.


  • The program is aimed at recent graduates and mid-career changers with a bachelor's degree in a STEM field such as science, technology, engineering or math are encouraged to apply.
  • The University of Akron will serve as the educational institution for prospective teachers and will partner with the Akron Public School District and Canton City School District.
  • Fellows are provided a $30,000 stipend in exchange for teaching in a low-income rural or urban secondary school for three years.
  • 20 Fellows will be accepted into this competitive program at UA.
  • Please note:  Registration for the first cohort is now closed.  It will reopen in Fall 2011.

Participating Campuses in Ohio

The four participating Ohio campuses are The University of Akron, the University of Cincinnati, John Carroll University, and The Ohio State University. Supported through the state's Choose Ohio First funds, with additional commitments from six Ohio foundations, the Fellowship is administered by The Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation of Princeton, New Jersey.

Contact Information

For more information about The University of Akron's program, please email: WoodrowWilsonGA.