The objective of the Advisory Council is to develop a close working relationship between engineering leaders in the greater Akron community, Sate of Ohio and the nation, and the administration of the Women in Engineering Program. Activities and goals to be realized as a result of this relationship are:

  • Advocacy: To function as an advocacy group for the Women in Engineering Program.
  • Performance: To assist the Women in Engineering Program in attaining high professional standard and to prepare students to meet the needs of society and industry.
  • Philanthropy: To assist the Department in the cultivation and solicitation of philanthropic resources and establish a multi-faceted fund raising program that will continue into the future.
  • Employment: To expand opportunities for students and graduates to find employment.
  • Recruitment: To assist the college in recruiting outstanding female students.

Current Advisory Council Members

Dr. Brian Arbuckle (Emeritus Member)
4846 Bevendean Dr., C-5
Nashville, TN 37211-6688
330-604-9365 
wmbrian@uakron.edu

Ms. Colleen Arthur
Director, Integrated Defense Technologies
& Akron Site General Manager
Lockheed Martin Akron
1210 Massillon Road
Akron, OH 44315-0001
330-796-1368
Colleen.c.arthur@lmco.com

Mr. Scott C. Armstrong
The Welty Company
330-697-7243 (cell)
Apb1873@yahoo.com

Ms. Eileen Buzzelli
Managing Director, First Energy Technologies
First Energy
76 South Main Street
Akron, OH 44308
330-761-4234
embuzzelli@firstenergycorp.com

Mrs. Margaret Donovan 
630 Warren Glen Road 
Bloomsbury, NJ  08804 
908-479-1435
dfwfalcon@aol.com

Lynn Miggins
President
KS Associates
260 Burnes Road, Suite 100
Elyria, OH 44035
440-365-4730, ext 310
migginsl@ksaassociates.com

Dr. Dane Quinn
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
The University of Akron
Akron, OH 44325-3905
330-972-6302
quinn@uakron.edu

Dr. Mary Verstraete
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
The University of Akron
Biomedical Engineering
Akron, OH 44325-0302
330-972-7691
maryc@uakron.edu
mverstraete@uakron.edu

Angel Williams
The Timken Company
1835 Dueber Ave. SW
Canton, OH 44706
330-471-2776
angelj.williams@timken.com

Ms. Lynn Brocco (Emeritus Member)
Co-Founder and VP, Hardware Engineering
StarGen
225 Cedar Hill Street, Suite 22
Marlborough, MA 01752
508-786-9950, ext 102
lynne@brocco.com

Mr. William Bandy, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus
Floyd Browne Group
450 Grant Street 
Akron, OH  44311-1183 
330-375-1390, ext 109
wbandy@floydbrowne.com

Ms. Loretta Harland
Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company
1144 E. Market St.
D/101A
Akron, OH 44316
330-289-7278 (cell)
lharland1@yahoo.com
Loretta_Harland@goodyear.com

Ms. Cheryl McKinney 
Commercial and Strategic Support Manager
BP Refining Technology 
150 West Warrenville Road, Mailcode 605-1E
Naperville, IL  60563 
419-351-8820 (cell)
mckinnca@bp.com

Connie Petersen
Processing Superintendent
Cargill Salt
2065 Manchester Rd.
Akron, OH 44314-1770
330-848-6429 or 510-676-3961 (cell)
connie_petersen@cargill.com

Tom Meyer
Plant Manager
PPG Industries
4829 Fairland Road
Barberton, OH 44203
330-825-0821, ext 3680
tmeyer@ppg.com

Ms. Angie Wells (Second Chairperson)
Principal
GPD Associates
520 South Main Street, Suite 2531
Akron, OH 44311-1010
awells@gpdgroup.com

 

The University of Akron

Akron, OH 44325
Phone: 330-972-7111
Contact us
Send mail & deliveries to UA
Text-Only