$https://uazips-my.sharepoint.com/personal/rklein1_uakron_edu/Documents/Rita's Work/CHHP/Counseling/Web \ descriptions \ for \ Counseling.docx$

SCHOOL OF COUNSELING SCHOLARSHIP DESCRIPTIONS

C The Jack and Barbara Cochran Endowed Scholarship (Est. 2018)

This scholarship was established to recognize deserving and talented students pursuing graduate degrees in The University of Akron School of Counseling. Jack retired from The University of Akron as a counseling Professor in 1989. He and his wife wish to continue supporting those who will aspire toward a career in the counseling profession. Application Criteria:

• GPA – Good Standing

- Class Standing Fully Admitted Graduate Student (Not Provisional)
- Load Hours 9 or more graduate credit hours
- Financial Need
- Other Criteria Master's Level preferred; Ph.D. Students may apply; Renewable

Application Process:

- Deadline October to November annually; Spring semester award
- Application Link available through the School of Counseling
- Chosen by Faculty Committee

M

The Dr. Katie Murdoch Memorial Scholarship (Est. 2021)

This scholarship was established by Dr. Murdoch's friend and colleague, Catherine Feudner, in her memory and in recognition of UA's 150th Anniversary. Katie was a UA educator who passed away suddenly in December 2020.

Application Criteria:

- GPA 3.5 or higher; Good Standing
- Class Standing Fully Admitted Graduate Student (Not Provisional) in either Clinical Mental Health Counseling (CMHC) or Marriage & Family Therapy (MFT)
- Load Hours 1 or more graduate credit hours
- Academic Merit
- Financial Need
- Other Criteria Must be enrolled in Practicum or Internship the Spring semester when award is distributed; Preference given to a student planning to work in suicide prevention.

Application Process:

 $https://uazips-my.sharepoint.com/personal/rklein1_uakron_edu/Documents/Rita's Work/CHHP/Counseling/Web \ descriptions \ for \ Counseling.docx$

- Deadline October to November annually; Spring semester award
- Application Link available through the School of Counseling
- Chosen by Faculty Committee