The New Criteria for Accreditation and Core Components

UA's self-study is based on the New HLC Criteria for accreditation.

Criterion One: Mission

The institution's mission is clear and articulated publicly; it guides the institution's operations.

Criterion Two: Ethical and Responsible Conduct

The institution fulfills its mission ethically and responsibly.

Criterion Three: Teaching and Learning - Quality, Resources, Support

The institution provides high quality education, wherever and however its offerings are delivered.

Criterion Four: Teaching and Learning - Evaluation and Improvement

The institution demonstrates responsibility for the quality of its educational programs.

Criterion Five: Resources, Planning and Institutional Effectiveness

The institution's resources, structures, and processes are sufficient to fulfill its mission, improve the quality of its educational offerings, and respond to future challenges and opportunities. The institution plans for the future.

The University of Akron

302 Buchtel Common. Akron, OH 44325
Phone: 330-972-7111
Contact us

© 2014 by The University of Akron • The University of Akron is an Equal Education and Employment Institution.