WHO WE ARE AND WHAT WE DO

University Communications and Marketing

The University of Akron

Wayne Hill and Eileen Korey lead the marketing and communications staff.


University Communications and Marketing leads the institution-level integrated marketing and communications efforts for the University. We collaborate with communicators across campus to ensure consistent messaging, strategic marketing efforts and strong brand development for the University.

We do this by focusing our efforts on University activities that best reflect the creation of new knowledge, creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship – all for the purpose of providing an environment that enables student success.

Through strategic and creative communications, we demonstrate how the University provides value to its varied constituents and helps fulfill the University’s collective goals toward student success; global relevance; interdisciplinary distinction; strong community engagement; and a vital campus environment.

We bring aspects of marketing communication together to effectively position the University in a consistent and coordinated manner.

Leading the group are:

  • Eileen Korey, associate vice president for communications and chief communications officer, korey@uakron.edu or 330-972-8589
     
  • Wayne Hill, associate vice president for marketing and chief marketing officer, whill@uakron.edu or 330-972-2148.

University Communications and Marketing is in the Administrative Services Building at 185 Mill St.


Marketing and Creative Services

The Creative Services team provides creative concepting, design, editing, photography, print production management and writing services. Our staff produces a wide variety of printed products, ranging from award-winning brochures and student recruitment pieces to advertising and institutional-level annual reports. Any promotional project intended to be seen by external audiences should be approved by Creative Services. The staff also is available for project consultation and logo standards assistance.

Wayne Hill
Associate VP and Chief Marketing Officer
330-972-2148
whill@uakron.edu

Jeff Harwell
Graphic Designer
330-972-6670
jharwell@uakron.edu

Lori Meek
Advertising Manager
330-972-7419
lmeek@uakron.edu

Matt Schafer
Senior Writer
330-972-7679
schafem@uakron.edu

Nancy Sugg Bracher
Manager of Publications
330-972-6402
nbracher@uakron.edu


Media Relations

All news media inquiries and media releases should be approved through the Office of Media Relations. Serving as a liaison between the news media and the University community, the Public Relations staff is available for counsel on any matters involving the media or newsworthy events happening on the UA campus.

Eileen Korey
Associate Vice President and Chief Communications Officer
330-972-8589
korey@uakron.edu

Dan Minnich
Director of Media Relations
330-972-6476
dminnich@uakron.edu

Denise Henry
PR Representative
330-972-6477
henryd@uakron.edu


New Media and Internal Communication

We tell the University's story through the web, video, social media and internal communications.

Eileen Korey
Associate Vice President and Chief Communications Officer
330-972-8589
korey@uakron.edu

Bob Kropff
Senior Director of Integrated Communications
330-972-7048
bobk@uakron.edu

Steve Allen
Senior Multimedia Producer
330-972-7581
sallen@uakron.edu

Jessica Bixby
Social Media Specialist
330-972-5899
jbixby@uakron.edu

Joette Dignan Weir
Manager of Editorial Services
330-972-6401
jdweir@uakron.edu

Steve Sedlock
Digital Marketing and Communications Specialist
330-972-7299
sedlock@uakron.edu


Team support

Cindy Gessel
Senior Executive Administrative Assistant
330-972-8075
cgessel@uakron.edu

Jan Watts
Administrative Assistant Senior
330-972-7820
jw10@uakron.edu