Interdisciplinary Seminar:

Families and Communities – Fostering Resilience in Youth Experiencing Traumatic Stress

Program Schedule - March 22, 2013

8:00 a.m. Registration
8:15 a.m. Introductory Remarks
The Honorable Linda Tucci Teodosio
Summit County Juvenile Court
8:30 a.m. Adolescent Trauma Issues
Dr. Monique T. Marrow
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Developmental Disabilities
9:30 a.m. Individual Differences in Adolescent Resilience after Trauma
Dr. Kathleen Tusaie
Associate Professor of Nursing
The University of Akron School of Nursing
10:30 a.m. Break
10:45 a.m. Panel I: Coping with Adolescent Trauma Issues in the Community
Erich Merkle, Ph.D., Ed.S., NCSP

School Psychologist, Akron Public Schools
The Reverend Robert Denton, Ph.D. and Pastor,
Executive Director, Victim's Assistance Program
Furnace Street Mission
Dr. Steven Cosby,
Director, Pediatric Psychiatry and Psychology
Akron Children's Hospital
11:30 a.m. Overview of Participant Exercise
Dr. Monique T. Marrow
Shay Bilchik, J.D.
11:45 a.m. Lunch for Attendees
12:45 p.m. Cross Over Population
Shay Bilchik, J.D.

Director, Center for Juvenile Justice Reform
Georgetown Public Policy Institute
Georgetown University
1:45 p.m. Panel II
Stark County Programs – Screening Process for Traumatized Youth
Stark County Family Court
The Honorable Michael L. Howard
Robin R. Tener, PhD
Northeast Ohio Behavioral Health, Ltd.
Kimberly Genis, PC
Mental Health/Trauma Coordinator
2:15 p.m. Break
2:30 p.m. Summit County Programs
The Honorable Linda Tucci Teodosio,
Summit County Juvenile Court
Beth Cardina,
Director CASA-GAL
Summit County Juvenile Court
3:00 p.m. Panel II: Alumni Panel
Four Adolescent Crossover Graduates
Moderator: Shay Bilchik
3:45 p.m. Best Practices
Patrick J. Kanary,
Director, Center for Innovative Practices (CIP), Begun Center for Violence Prevention,
Case Western Reserve University
4:15 p.m. Wrap up and Q&A Panel
Shay Bilchik, J.D., Dr. Monique T. Marrow and Patrick J. Kanary
4:45 p.m. Closing Comments
Shay Bilchik, J.D. and Dr. Monique T. Marrow
5:00p.m. Adjournment