William S. Jordan, III Appointed Associate Dean


Akron, Ohio, Jan. 6, 2009 - William S. Jordan III, C. Blake McDowell, Jr. Professor of Law at The University of Akron School Law has been appointed Associate Dean.

Dean Jordan received his B.A. from Stanford University and his J.D., cum laude, from the University of Michigan. Following law school, he served as an attorney-advisor at the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. He then entered the private sector with Washington, D.C. firm of Sheldon, Harmon, Roisman & Weiss, which became Harmon, Weiss, and Jordan, where he engaged primarily in environmental and administrative litigation. He joined the Akron Law in 1985 and currently teaches Administrative Law and Property.

Dean Jordan's research has addressed various aspects of judicial review. He is a former president of the Central States Law School Association and is currently a member of the Council of the Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice of the ABA. He is also co-chair of the Section's Judicial Review Committee and a contributing editor to Administrative and Regulatory Law News. He is a co-editor, with Charles Koch and Richard Murphy, of Administrative Law: Cases and Materials (5th Ed.), published by Lexis-Nexis.

The University of Akron School of Law promotes justice, the protection of individual liberty and the rule of law through commitment to excellence in teaching, scholarship and service. The law school features nationally recognized programs in intellectual property and trial advocacy, as well as one of four Constitutional Law Centers in the United States. To learn more, visit www.uakron.edu/law.

The University of Akron is the public research university for Northern Ohio. It is the only public university in Ohio with a science and engineering program ranked in the top five nationally by U.S. News & World Report. Serving 24,700 students, the university offers approximately 300 associate, bachelor's, master's, doctoral and law degree programs and 100 certificate programs at sites in Summit, Wayne, Medina and Holmes counties. For more information, visit www.uakron.edu.