Legal Writing Institute One-Day Workshop

Laptop and PaperTitle: Legal Writing Institute One-Day Workshop
Date: Dec. 7, 2012
Time: 8:45 a.m. -3:45 p.m.
Cost: $100 per person, free for judges, law clerks and practitioners
Location: Room 316 in the Student Union
Registration: register online at http://www.regonline.com/lwionedayworkshop2012allsites and select University of Akron School of Law

This workshop will address The Evolving Legal Writing Classroom, focusing on advocacy.  Many of the topics will appeal to all audiences, including developing a theme within a brief and being an effective advocate within ethical boundaries.  Additional topics will be of great interest to current and aspiring Legal Writing professors, but may also help judges and practitioners develop the skills of the young attorneys with whom they work.  These topics include teaching theme, organization, and effective use of authority; teaching individuals with different backgrounds and learning styles; and designing appellate problems.  In addition, a panel of judges will share their thoughts on effective advocacy, and one of our law librarians will present on the latest and greatest from Westlaw Next and Lexis Advance.  Lunch will be served, and coffee and light refreshments will be available throughout the day.

For more information, contact:

Professor Sarah Morath
Ph: 330-972-7262
Email: morath@uakron.edu

Schedule of Events

8:45-9:25                                                Registration and Breakfast

9:25-9:30                                                Welcome

 

Presenter

Topic

9:30-10:30
Panel One: Written Advocacy

Allison Mittendorf
a-mittendorf@onu.edu
Ohio Northern University College of Law

 

Using the statement of facts to create a theme

Carolyn Broering-Jacobs
Carolyn.broering-jacobs@law.csuohio.edu
Cleveland-Marshall College of Law

 

Developing a theme

Elizabeth Shaver
eas68@uakron.edu
University of Akron School of Law

Using a poorly-written brief to teach students theme, organization, and effective use of authority

Jennifer Cupar
Jennifer.cupar@case.edu
Case Western Reserve University School of Law

Drafting effective preliminary statements

10:30-11:45
Panel Two: A Judge’s Perspective

Panel of judges TBA

 

11:45-12:30                                           Lunch

12:30-1:15 
Coffee & Desert
Legal Research Update

Librarian Lynn Lenart
Assistant Law Librarian for Reference Services
llenart@uakron.edu

The latest and greatest with Westlaw Next and LN Advanced

1:15-2:15
Panel Three: Oral advocacy & Developing Appellate Problems

Elizabeth Sherowski
sherowski.2@osu.edu
Ohio State University College of Law

Providing feedback on oral advocacy

Paige Canfield
canfield@slu.edu
St. Louis University

Designing appellate advocacy problems

Monica Wallace
monicaw@buffalo.edu
Benadette Gargano
Gargano@buffalo.edu
University of Buffalo Law School

Teaching an advanced civil litigation/ appellate advocacy class using the case file method

Vicki Lowery
lowery@mc.edu
Mississippi College School of Law

 

2:15-2:30                                              Break

2:30-3:45
Panel Four: Specific considerations when teaching students advocacy

Kathryn Mercer
Klm7@case.edu
Case Western Reserve University School of Law

Appealing to the Lizard Brain (the Amygdala) and the Intellectual Brain (the Neo-Cortex)

Brian Glassman
Brian.glassman@law.csuohio.edu
Cleveland-Marshall School of Law

Teaching visual learners

Tammy Pettinato
Tammy.pettinato@gmail.com
University of Louisville School of Law

Teaching first generation law students

Kim Peterson
Kmpeterson@wisc.edu
University of Wisconsin School of Law

Being an effective advocate within ethical boundaries

Adam Todd
atodd@udayton.edu
University of Dayton School of Law

Formalism vs. realism

The University of Akron

Akron, OH 44325
Phone: 330-972-7111
Contact us
Send mail & deliveries to UA
Text-Only