Selection Criteria

Awardees are bedside nurses who:

  • Demonstrate a comprehensive understanding of the art and science of nursing, and have a strong desire to use this knowledge to improve the delivery of patient care.
  • Demonstrate a commitment to consistent, clinical decision-making and excellence in nursing care.
  • Serve as an effective advocate for patients and their families.
  • By example, encourage and motivate others and are recognized as a role model for the profession of nursing.
  • Demonstrate sensitivity to inclusiveness and diversity

Current Awardees

Past Awardees

Spirit of Nursing Award



The University of Akron

Akron, OH 44325
Phone: 330-972-7111
Contact us
Send mail & deliveries to UA