Professional Firefighter Academy
Offered by the Training Center for Fire and Hazardous Materials, part of UA's College of Applied Science and Technology
The Professional Firefighter Academy will give you the training you need to begin your career as an emergency service professional. Students receive training from some of the top fire instructors in the state, and they learn how to perform in the safest, efficient and effective ways possible while working on an emergency scene. Finally, upon successful completion of the academy and receiving Ohio certification as a Firefighter II, our students earn college credit toward a fire-protection associate degree.
About the course
Meets current NFPA 1001 Standard Professional Firefighter Professional Qualifications and including 16 Hours of Drivers Training. (All University of Akron students will receive 11 credit hours toward their Fire Protection Associate degree upon completion of this course and passing the State Examination.)
Date: August 31 – December 9, 2015 Location: Lakemore Fire Department
Days: Monday through Thursday 0800-1200 and Saturdays 0800 to 1600
Tuition: $2,900 (book NOT included)
Required Textbook: Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills, 3rd Edition published by Jones & Bartlett (Test & Workbook)
Turnout Gear Required: UA can rent turnout gear at students request for $600
You will recieve:
- State of Ohio Firefighter 1 & 2 certification
- State of Ohio Hazardous Materials- Operations level certification
- National Incident Management System IS100 & IS700 certification
- 11 credits toward an Associate’s Degree in Fire Protection Technology
This course meets current NFPA 1001 Standard Professional Firefighter Qualifications. The Professional Fire Academy course includes 16 hours of Emergency Vehicle Operations and hands-on experience with:
- Forcible Entry
- Fire Attack and Fire Suppression
- Search & Rescue
- Vehicle Extrication Techniques
- Various other applicable hands-on skills
This course will be held at Lakemore Fire Department. Prerequisites for Enrollment are:
- Must be 18 years of age and possess a valid Ohio Driver’s License.
- Have not been convicted of, pled guilty to, or had a judicial finding of guilt or are you currently under indictment for any of the followings: a felony; a misdemeanor other than a minor traffic violation; a violation of any federal, state, county or municipal narcotics law; any act committed in another state, that, if committed in Ohio, would constitute a violation set forth in 4765-11-03 (16) (b) of the Ohio Administrative Code.
- Have not been adjudicated mentally incompetent by a court of law.
- Do not currently engage in the illegal use of controlled substances, alcohol, or other habit-forming drugs or chemical substances?
- Have not ever been convicted of, plead guilty to, or had a judicial finding of guilt for fraud or material deception in applying for, or obtaining a certificate, issued under Chapter 4765-11 or the Ohio Administrative Code.