Office of the Dean

Meet the Dean

Linda Subich, Interim Dean for the College of Arts and Sciences at The University of Akron.Welcome to the Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences.

The faculty and staff of the college are dedicated to providing students with a world-class education. Together, we are preparing students to become creative problem solvers and collaborators in an ever changing global community.

As interim dean of the College of Arts and Science at The University of Akron, Dr. Linda Subich oversees multiple academic units, centers and institutes. The College offers more than 80 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in the areas of fine arts, humanities, social sciences and natural sciences. With over 4,000 students, the College of Arts and Sciences has a large presence on our campus and is considered the heart of the University.

Dr. Subich holds the rank of distinguished professor in the Department of Psychology. She previously served her colleagues in Psychology as Department Chair as well as the Training Director for the doctoral program in Counseling Psychology. She served the college as Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies for 6 years prior to becoming Interim Dean. Dr. Subich holds a Ph.D. in counseling psychology from The Ohio State University. She has been recognized for her research and service to the profession by having been granted Fellow status by the American Psychological Association.

Linda Subich, Ph.D.
Interim Dean,
Distinguished Professor of Psychology
Phone: 330-972-8379
Email:subich@uakron.edu


Dean Directory

Senior Administration

Bill Lyons

Bill Lyons, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Division of Social Sciences
Professor of Political Science
330-972-5855
dwtlyons@uakron.edu

Sheldon Wrice

Sheldon Wrice, Ed.D.
Associate Dean, Division of Humanities, Multi-Disciplinary Studies & Diversity
Professor, Technical Writing & Composition
330-972-6023
swrice1@uakron.edu

David Steer

David N. Steer, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Division of Natural Sciences
Professor of Geosciences
330-972-2099
steer@uakron.edu

Ann Usher, Ph.D.

Ann Usher, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Division of Arts
Professor of Music
330-972-6923
ausher@uakron.edu

Professional Staff

Donald Welch

Donald Welch, M.S.
Director, Operations & Technology
330-972-7937
dfwelch@uakron.edu

Ashley Rini

Ashley Rini, M.S.
Director, Pre-Health Advising
330-972-6513
rini@uakron.edu

Office Staff

Martha Reynolds
Coordinator, Administrative Services
330-972-7857
martha2@uakron.edu

Tina Fiocca
Program Specialist
330-972-7882
tfiocca@uakron.edu

Edie Barnes
Program Specialist
330-972-7881
esb@uakron.edu

Marlene Pryor
Secretary
330-972-7880
mpryor1@uakron.edu