Four receive scholarships from UA Buchtel College honorary society


Phi Sigma Alpha, the scholastic honorary society of Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences at The University of Akron, has awarded scholarships to four outstanding juniors.

The scholarships were awarded during a ceremony on April 17. Also during the ceremony, 120 students were inducted into the scholastic honorary society, which was founded at UA in 1910. To become Phi Sigma Alpha members, juniors must carry a 3.50 grade-point average and seniors a 3.25 grade-point average.

Nicholas Purcell of Columbus and George Voros of Stow each received a Phi Sigma Alpha Scholarship.

Purcell is majoring in psychology with a minor in sociology, and plans to pursue a doctorate in clinical psychology. He is a member of Psi Chi, UA's psychology honorary, as well as the National Society of Leadership and Success and the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

Voros is majoring in both biochemistry and biology and plans to pursue an advanced degree in veterinary science. He participates in UA's Tiered-Mentoring Program in Biology and works as a veterinary assistant.

Sara Auclair of Hudson received the Catherine Carroll Taliaferro Phi Sigma Alpha Scholarship. Auclair is majoring in history and Spanish and also working on a certificate in Latin American studies. She plans to pursue a master's degree and then a doctorate in Latin American studies. She is involved with numerous campus organizations, including the Associated Student Government, Residence Hall Program Board, University Ambassador program and others.

The scholarship received by Auclair is named for the late Catherine Carroll Taliaferro, a Phi Sigma Alpha undergraduate inductee who later joined the UA English faculty and served as the honorary's adviser for more than 20 years.  

Nick Nussen of Uniontown received the Dr. Sheldon B. Liss Endowed Scholarship. Majoring in English with minors in both philosophy and classics, Nussen plans to pursue a master's degree and doctorate in English literature. He is a member of UA's Philosophy Club and Literary Guild, participates in the English-as-a-Second-Language Conversation Partners Program, and volunteers at St. John's Church in Akron.

The scholarship received by Nussen is named for the late Dr. Sheldon Liss, a popular UA faculty member who taught Latin American history.

The Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences is the largest and oldest degree-granting college at The University of Akron.

In addition to providing a world-class education in an array of bachelor's, master's and doctoral degree programs, Buchtel College provides the majority of general education courses for UA.

Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences is named for John R. Buchtel (1820-1892), an Akron industrialist who helped establish Buchtel College in 1870, the predecessor to The University of Akron. The Buchtel College of Liberal Arts was formed in 1913 when Buchtel College became a municipal university. Buchtel College is home to 22 departments, nine centers and institutes, and four special programs in the fine arts, humanities, natural sciences and social sciences.

Media contact: Cyndee Snider, 330-972-5196 or