cherion logo

Cheiron: The international society for the history of behavioral & social sciences

Call for Submissions: Cheiron 2018 Book Prize

Cheiron is now accepting submissions for the 2018 Book Prize. Eligible works  nclude original book-length historical studies, written in English and published in 2016 or 2017. Topical areas can include, but are not limited to, histories of psychology, psychiatry, anthropology, sociology, and social statistics. Works that are primarily history of medicine or history of education are not suitable entries, unless they are strongly tied to the history of the social/behavioral/human sciences. Edited collections or anthologies are not eligible, nor are conventional textbooks. Submissions will be judged on the basis of their scholarly character, depth of research, and the importance of their contribution to the field. Submissions can be made by publishers or authors.

Deadline: Two copies of each entry must be received at the address below by 1 October 2017. Books that are printed late in 2017 are eligible for the next competition; only printed books are eligible.

The author of the winning book will receive $500 plus up to $300 in travel expenses to attend the 2018 Annual Meeting of Cheiron held in June at Akron University, where the prize will be awarded. Remote-electronic presentation is possible, for a winner who cannot make the meeting. Announcement of the award will be widely circulated to relevant journals and organizations.

To enter the competition, two copies of each entry, clearly labeled "2018 Cheiron Book Prize," must be mailed directly to:

David Robinson, 2018 Cheiron Book Prize
209 Elliott Dr.
Columbia MO 65201


Any questions can be directed by email to


2017 Cheiron Young Scholar Award Winner: Shayna Fox Lee

The 2017 Cheiron Young Scholar Award goes to Shayna Fox Lee, a doctoral student in History and Theory of Psychology at York University in Toronto, for her paper, “Psychology’s Own Mindfulness: Ellen Langer, the Rise of Scientific Interest in Buddhist Practices, and the Social Politics of Helping Individuals Help Themselves.”

Fox Lee contrasts Ellen Langer’s version of  ‘mindfulness’ – which grew out of Langer’s 1970s social psychology experiments on ‘mindlessness’ – with other forms of  mindfulness that have different origins, including Buddhist contemplative practices as well as secular versions of contemplative practices. Fox Lee offers a critical analysis of the social politics and cultural context in which mindfulness research and applications emerged and developed. In this way she exposes debates that might promote critiques of the ways ‘mindfulness’ is conceptualized and practiced in different contemporary subfields, including clinical, health, and positive psychology.

--2017 Cheiron Young Scholar Award Committee

Nancy Digdon (chair), Katalin Dzinas, Rodrigo Lopes Miranda