Polymer Professors awarded by American Chemical Society, Division of Polymer Chemistry


Dr. Matthew Becker, Dr. Kevin Cavicchi, and Dr. Andrey Dobrynin were recently recognized and awarded by the American Chemical Society (ACS), Division of Polymer Chemistry (POLY) at the ACS National Meeting & Exposition in Orlando, Florida.

Dr. Becker received the Carl S. Marvel Award for Creative Polymer Chemistry. This award was established in 1980 to recognize and encourage accomplishments and/or innovation of unusual merit in the field of basic or applied polymer science by younger scientists.

Dr. Cavicchi received the 2019 Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his outstanding efforts to promote POLY memberships and develop student chapters. The Distinguished Service Award honors individuals whose professional accomplishments have made a significant and lasting impact on the POLY Division the ACS. These individuals have not only fulfilled their duties and obligations for POLY, but have gone above and beyond expectations. The Distinguished Service Award is a high honor for those that have served POLY.

Dr. Dobrynin was selected as a 2019 POLY Fellow. The POLY Fellows Program was established in 2009 to recognize excellence in all ways that POLY members advance the field of polymer science, either through scientific accomplishments, service to the profession, or both.

Congratulations to our outstanding faculty and their contributions to the field of polymers!

Dr. Becker

Dr. Cavicchi receiving his award plaque at the ACS National Meeting

Dr. Dobrynin