DPE Students Win Awards


Angela Beltran Osuna won second prize of $1,000 and a new iPad2 for her video, "The True Meaning of Plastics," in the Shaping Your World Student Video Contest in November 2011. Sponsored by SPI: The Plastics Industry Trade Association and The Future of Plastics Foundation, the contest called for student produced videos honoring plastics innovation. Her submission was awarded based on its creativity, execution, and use of original animation. Her video is posted on YouTube at:


Angela is completing an M.S. with Dr. Sadhan Jana and graduates in December 2011.

Hongyi Yuan and Zhouying He were selected as the 2011-12 polymer engineering student recipients of the Ticona Excellence in Engineering Plastics Awards. These awards are given each year to two students in their second year of doctoral study who also have the highest GPA and qualifying exam scores, in addition to their advisor input. Yuan's advisor is Dr. Alamgir Karim and He is co-advised by Dr. Karim and Dr. Robert Weiss. The students will each receive $500 and recognition from Ticona at a luncheon to be held later this year.

Diya Bandyopadhyay was selected as the 2011 polymer engineering student recipient of the Frank N. Kelley Graduate Student Award. This award is given each year to one student in polymer engineering and one student in polymer science, each in his/her fourth year of graduate study at The University of Akron, on the basis of the student's research and course work performance in the College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering. The Kelley Award honors the College's Dean Emeritus, Dr. Frank N. Kelley.

Diya Bandyopadhyay received second place and $1,000 for best original research proposal on "Generating Multi-Functional Polymeric Surfaces through Surface Migration of Small Molecules via Combinatorial Techniques" during a technical writing competition organized by the Polymeric Modifiers and Additives Division (PMAD) of the Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE) held in April 2011. A doctoral student studying with Dr. Alamgir Karim, Bandyopadhyay competed with other graduate students from across the U.S. and Canada.

Thomas Sutter received a Best Presentation of the Session Award for his work on "Azobenzene Crystal Shooting and Shape Behavior" during the 2011 Conference on Undergraduate and Graduate Research held at the University of Akron on April 7, 2011.
Sutter is a doctoral student studying with Dr. Thein Kyu.