Stephen Cheng awarded 2013 APS Polymer Physics Prize


Stephen Z.D. Cheng

Robert C. Musson & Trustees Professor and Dean of the College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering Stephen Z.D. Cheng has been recognized as the 2013 recipient of the Polymer Physics Prize of the American Physical Society, the highest honor in physical polymer science in the United States and around the world. The award citation reads:

"For pioneering contributions to the fundamental understanding of crystallization, metastability and phase transformations of semi-crystalline polymers."

The APS Polymer Physics Prize is awarded annually to recognize outstanding accomplishment and excellence of contributions in polymer physics research. The selection is open to all scientists of all nations regardless of membership in the society or the geographical location in which the work was carried out. The prize consists of a monetary award and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. Established in 1960, the Dow Chemical Company now serves as its chief supporter.