Dr. Tianbo Liu appointed as the next Chair of the Department of Polymer Science


liu-webThe College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Tianbo Liu as the next Chair of the Department of Polymer Science effective July 2018. Dr. Coleen Pugh will be completing her current term on June 30. Please join us in thanking Coleen for her six years of hard work and service as Chair.

Dr. Liu received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from Stony Brook University in 1999. After serving as a postdoctoral associate at Stony Brook he started his independent research career at the Physics department of Brookhaven National Laboratory. In 2005 he transitioned to Lehigh University as an assistant professor of Chemistry and was promoted to associate professor in 2009 and full professor in 2012. During his time at Lehigh he received an NSF Career Award, the Eleanor and Joseph F. Libsch Early Career Research Award and was named an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow. In 2013 we were fortunate that he joined our College’s faculty as the A. Schulman Professor of Polymer Science.

Liu’s progressive research focuses on the physical chemistry of complex polymer solution systems including macroions, inorganic-organic hybrids, colloids/nanoparticles, surfactants/micelles, polyelectrolytes, block copolymers and biomacromolecules. He has maintained consistent NSF funding for his cutting-edge research, mentoring dozens of successful UA students and postdoctoral associates over the last five years.

Our College appreciates Dr. Liu’s enthusiasm in stepping up to serve as our next DPS Chair. Please join us in offering congratulations of his success and in supporting him in his new role.

Click here to visit Dr. Liu's faculty page.