For the safety of our students, faculty, staff, and speakers, this fall's seminar series will be presented through Webex.

Goodyear Polymer Center (GDYR)
170 University Avenue, Akron, OH 44325-3909

Polymer Engineering Academic Center (PEAC)
250 South Forge Street, Akron, OH 44325-0301

Lectures Are Free And Open To The Public

This schedule is subject to change; please call the number below before attending a lecture.

For further information on the above seminars, please contact The Department of Polymer Science at 330-972-7542 or by e-mail at jclark2@uakron.edu.

History and Origin of Seminars

Eastman Chemical Company Lecture Series

This lecture series is organized by the PSSO (Polymer Science Student Organization) and is sponsored annually by the Eastman Chemical Company, Kingsport Tennessee.

About Eastman Chemical Company

Eastman Chemical Company is a leading international chemical company that produces plastics, chemicals, and fibers. Eastman does not sell consumer products, but Eastman supplies billions of pounds of products for countless end uses by consumers. Plastics from Eastman are found in automobiles, tools, toothbrushes, trash bags, tapes, eyeglasses, electronic packaging, personal hygiene products, photographic film, medical parts, cookware, computers, and coated paper cups. Spectar copolymer, one of Eastman's fastest-growing specialty plastics, is a cost-effective alternative to acrylic and polycarbonate plastics for displays, signs, and store fixtures. Eastar copolyester, another specialty plastic, is a versatile material for injection-molded displays, extruded profiles, and demanding graphic arts applications. Eastapak polymers are polyester plastics used in containers for beverages, foods, and toiletries.

The Polymer Research Division consists of three laboratories devoted primarily to developing polyesters and copolyesters with enhanced properties and supporting applications development for the markets served by Eastman products. The Polymer Synthesis Research Lab is responsible for new polymers including synthesis methods and mechanistic understandings. The Polymer Additives and Formulations Research Lab develops additives for color, stabilization, and property modifications (e.g. toughening, nanocomposite technology). The Polymer Processing and Applications Research Lab maintains a fundamental understanding of process and material interactions, polymer performance and characterization, and packaging design performance.

Founded in 1920 in Kingsport, Tennessee, as a unit of Eastman Kodak Company, Eastman Chemical Company was spun off in 1994 and is now an independent, publicly held company traded on the New York Stock Exchange (ticker symbol EMN). Eastman is a FORTUNE 500 company with 2008 sales of $6.7 billion. Headquartered in Kingsport, Eastman employs 10,500 people in more than 30 countries.

H.A. Morton Visiting Professor in Polymer Science

The Dr. Harold A. Morton Chair in Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering enables The University of Akron to attract internationally endowed scholars to its already distinguished polymer faculty.

Established in 1987 with a $1 million grant from Mrs. Harold A. Morton in memory of her husband, the chair supports a permanent distinguished professorship as well as ongoing visiting professorships in the College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering. Morton chair holders share their research and teaching expertise not only with UA students and faculty but also with scientists and business people throughout the world. Chair holders complement UA's diverse collection of polymer research specialties, including the Alex Schulman Chair and the Musson Chair, two Ohio Eminent Scholar positions awarded to the DPS in 1986 and 1988 by the Ohio Board of Regents, and the Trustees Chair awarded to DPS by the University of Akron's Board of Trustees in 1998.

Past H.A. Morton Visiting Professors in the Department of Polymer Science

Fall 2006 - Swaninathan Sivaram, National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, India
Spring 2003 - Doug Neckers, Bowling Green State University
Fall 2002 - Berhnard Lotz, Institute of Charles Sadron
Fall 2000 - Greg Rutledge, MIT
Fall 1999 - Ned Thomas, MIT
Fall 1998 - Phillippe Teyssie, University of Liege
Spring 1997 - Takashi Inoue
Spring 1996 - H.G. Zachmann, Universitat Hamburg
Spring 1995 - Isaac Sanchez, University of Texas
Spring 1994 - Donald Napper, Sydney University
Spring 1992 - Andras Keller
Fall 1992 - Ernst Marechal, Universite de Pierre & Marie Currie
Spring 1991 - Richard Stein, University of Massachusetts
Fall 1991 - Roger Porter, University of Massachusetts

International Rubber Science Hall of Fame Symposium & Induction Ceremony

The symposium is held annually in the fall semester. The Maurice Morton Institute of Polymer Science at The University of Akron and the Rubber Division of the American Chemical Society are cosponsors of The International Rubber Science Hall of Fame symposium and installation.

The symposium consists of invited lecturers in rubber research and is in honor of the selected inductee.

Milkovich Lecture Series

This lecture series honors the memory of Dr. Ralph Milkovich, who received his Ph.D. in Polymer Chemistry at The University of Akron in 1959, under the direction of Professor Maurice Morton. Dr. Milkovich was a pioneer in heterophase polymer science and technology and was one of the first to observe and recognize living anionic polymerization. He pioneered the synthesis of pure block and graft polymers (Kraton and Macromer) and developed the concept of morphological domains in heterophase polymers.

He was often described as the "Johnny Appleseed of anionic polymerization," as a result of his pioneering technological leadership and research activities at Shell Chemical Company, The General Tire & Rubber Company, CPC International, ARCO Chemical Company and PPG Industries. Dr. Milkovich received the American Chemical Society's Creative Invention Award in April, 1985, shortly before his untimely death in June of that year.

Alumni Day

View more information here.

Whitby Lecture Series

Sponsored by Bridgestone Americas Center for Research and Technology.

The G. Stafford Whitby Memorial Lectureship, named in honor of one of the pioneers in rubber chemistry, is made possible through a grant from the Bridgestone Americas Center for Research and Technology and is presented through The University of Akron's Department of Polymer Science.

Dr. Whitby, who died in 1972 at the age of 84, retired from The University of Akron in 1952 after ten years as Professor of Rubber Chemistry and Director of Rubber Research. He continued to serve the University as a research consultant until 1971. Dr. Whitby was best known for developing techniques for handling latex and producing synthetic rubber. He earned an international reputation for his research work in England and Canada, as well as the United States. He was a noted author and received numerous awards during his distinguished career.