Faculty Senate Committees for 2021-22 Academic Year

Terms Indicated are for committee terms only


Quick Links

BOLD indicates chair of committee


Executive Committee

The executive committee of the senate will have the following responsibilities: Appoint members to appropriate faculty senate committees. Prepare the agenda for each meeting. Serve as an advisory committee to the senior vice president and provost on governance matters affecting the academic mission of the university. Ensure that the business of permanent and ad hoc committees is completed in a timely fashion. Bring matters to the senate or assign matters to committees. Consider any questions and complaints regarding elections of members to the senate and make recommendations concerning these complaints to the senate. The executive committee shall further certify the validity of all senate elections.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Kathryn Budd - Chair 23 Art kbudd@uakron.edu 8208
Dana Cole - Vice Chair 23 Law dkc@uakron.edu 2901
Angela Hartsock-Secretary-23 Biology ahartsock1@uakron.edu 8795
Melissa Dreisbach - 23 Exercise & Nutrition Sci. mdk24@uakron.edu 2341
Joel Duff - 2024 Biology rjduff@uakron.edu 6077
Mahesh Srinivasan - 24 Management ms128@uakron.edu 5440
Stacia Biddle - 23 Allied Health stacia@uakron.edu 7906

Academic Policies Committee

Recommends and interprets academic policy on university-wide matters such as admission, retention, graduation, and dismissal requirements, etc. Recommends changes for the improvement of the academic program of the university.

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
David Bird - ex officio Registrar dab32@uakron.edu 6432
Katie Cerrone - 25 Math kc24@uakron.edu 8809
Sharon Crawford - 23 Admissions ses12@uakron.edu 6448
Sujay Datta - 25 Statistics sd83@uakron.edu 6886
Parizad Dejbord Sawan - 23 Modern Languages parizad@uakron.edu 7824
Melissa Dreisbach - 23* Sport Science & Well mdk24@uakron.edu 2341
Misty Franklin - 25 School of Law misty@uakron.edu 6456
John Goodell - 23* Finance johngoo@uakron.edu 5361
Ali Hajjafar - 25* Retiree hajjafar@uakron.edu
Travis Hreno - 23* Philosophy th34@uakron.edu 8031
Janet Klein - 24* History klein@uakron.edu 2562
Susan Kushner Benson - 23 Education snk@uakron.edu 8577
Kevin Lewis - 23 BCAS Dean's office kdl8@uakron.edu 7880
Sergei Lyuksyutov - 23 Physics sfl@uakron.edu 8356
Joseph Minocchi - 23 Academic Advising jminocchi@uakron.edu 5865
Ben Rochester - 23* Advising rochest@uakron.edu 6092
Linda Shanks - 23 Nursing shanks@uakron.edu 6699
David Szalay - 24* Art dms@uakron.edu 8202
Katie Timperio - 24 BCAS - Advisor kat1@uakron.edu 7880

Accessibility Committee

Reviews and recommends policies regarding disability and accessibility issues that relate to the academic function of the university, including academic policies which apply to faculty or students, and reports these to the senate for action.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Ala Abbas - 23 Civil Engineering abbas@uakron.edu 8242
Marilia Antunez - 25 Univ Libraries mantunez@uakron.edu 6262
Sara Rieder Bennett - 23, co-chair Counseling & Testing Ctr slr45@uakron.edu 7082
Scott Bible - 23*, co-chair Management scb3@uakron.edu 6300
Shawn Bixler - 25 Office of Accessibility sbixler@uakron.edu
Cathy Faye - 23 Cummings Center cfaye@uakron.edu 6096
Gregory Harris - 23 UL Technical Services gmh26@uakron.edu  5112
Andrea Meluch - 25 Communications alm133@uakron.edu 5189
Heather Rose - ex officio Office of Accessibility hrose@uakron.edu 8923
Patrick Tabatcher - 23 Design and Development pmt1@uakron.edu 2432

Athletics Committee

Advises faculty senate on all university activities relating to intercollegiate athletics including, but not limited to, conference affiliations and the national collegiate athletic association. Coordinates with other faculty senate committees matters of joint concern relating to intercollegiate athletics. Provides advice and counsel to the director of athletics concerning individual player eligibility, interpretation of policy, and other matters relating to the athletic program.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.

Stacey Buser - 25

Exercise Science & Nutrition buser@uakron.edu 7475

Edward Evans - 24*

Chem & Biomolecular Eng evanse@uakron.edu 8292

Jeffrey Franks - 24

Univ Libraries jfranks@uakron.edu 6052
Marc Haas - 23 Resp Therapy Tech marc10@uakron.edu 8650
Lauren Houser - 25 Marketing lhouser@uakron.edu 8839
Anne Jorgensen - ex officio Athletics ajorgen@uakron.edu
Matthew Juravich - ex officio Sports Science & Well Educ mjuravich@uakron.edu 2308
Willy Kollman - 23 Office of Alumni Relations wrk1@uakron.edu 2575
John Nicholas - 23* Bus Tech jn@uakron.edu 7113
Ronald Otterstetter - 23 Sports Science ro5@uakron.edu 7738
Rolando Ramirez - 23 Biology rjr@uakron.edu 2753
Benjamin Rochester - 23 Academic Advising rochest@uakron.edu 6092
Jack Sahl - 25 Law jsahl@uakron.edu 6753

Computing & Communications Technologies Committee

Provides recommendations to the senate on policy matters concerning utilization of information technology and resources related to academic systems, computing data, and voice communication. Provides advice and counsel to the vice president and chief information officer concerning guidelines on electronic information acquisition, budget, processing, policies, and other matters affecting academic areas.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Sheau-Huey Chiu - 23* Nursing schiu@uakron.edu 7563
Enoch Damson - 25 Computer Sci & CIS damson@uakron.edu 7162
Yue Dang - 25 Counseling yd13@uakron.edu 7118
Pei-Yang Liu - 25 Nutrition and Dietetics liu4@uakron.edu 8842
Alex Povitsky - 25 Mechanical Engineering alex14@uakron.edu 2685
Scott Randby - 25 Math srandby@uakron.edu 6094
Robert Shultz - 25 Information Tech Services rds@uakron.edu 8271
I-Chun Tsai - 24 Educ Foundations tsai1@uakron.edu 6774
Matthew Williams - 23 Information Tech Services mwilliams1@uakron.edu 4851
John Corby - ex-officio Information Tech Services jcorby@uakron.edu 7345

Curriculum Review Committee

Reviews curricula and course recommendations of the several colleges and divisions and, when necessary, submits them to faculty senate for action. Considers the mechanics of the academic programs of the several colleges and divisions, such as adjustments in admission, retention and dismissal requirements, and changes in general bulletin descriptions. Reviews course changes, proposals, and new programs and recommends such changes and revisions for inclusion in the general bulletin.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Andrew Bonecutter - 25 Registrar - ex officio ajb40@uakron.edu 6090
Alper Buldum - 24* Mech Engineering buldum@uakron.edu 8087
Kathleen Clark - 23 Communication kclark@uakron.edu 7485
Malik Elbuluk - 25* Elec & Computer Eng melbuluk@uakron.edu 6531
Jennifer Hebert - 25 English jgh2@uakron.edu 7605
Steven Jacobson - 25 Registrar - ex officio sjj@uakron.edu 7877
Kris Kraft - co-chair 25 Allied Health knk@uakron.edu 6516
Jennifer Lyles Jones - 25 Academic Achievement jlylesjones@uakron.edu 6338
Nidaa Makki - 25 Education nm32@uakron.edu 6955
Linda Saliga - co-chair 25* Mathematics saliga@uakron.edu 8002
I-Chun Tsai - 25 Educ Fnd & Learning tsai1@uakron.edu 6774
Lia Wiley - 23 Sociology lmc73@uakron.edu 7951

Faculty Research Committee

Reviews research proposals submitted by faculty members. Recommends the budgeting of sums of the university's support of faculty research proposals to be funded by this committee. Establishes policies for funding proposals and guidelines for expenditures of those funded.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Wondimu Ahmed - 23 Education wahmed@uakron.edu 6771
Frederik Beuk - 23 Marketing beuk@uakron.edu 7903
Kelly Bialek - 23 Polymer Science kelly.bialek@uakron.edu 6153
Stacia Biddle - 23 School of Allied Health  stacia@uakon.edu 7906
Jae-Won Choi - 23 Mechanical Engineering jchoi1@uakron.edu 5276
Sujay Datta - 23 Statistics sd85@uakron.edu 6886
Asoke Dey - 23 Management adey@uakron.edu 6636
James Diefendorff - 25 Psychology jdiefen@uakron.edu 7317
Stephen Harp - 24 History sharp@uakron.edu 5468
Gary Holliday - 25 Curr & Inst Studies gh30@uakron.edu 7437
Daniela Jauk - 23 Sociology/Criminal Justice djauk@uakron.edu 8207
Hunter King - 23 Polymer Science hking@uakron.edu 6370
Erin Makarius - 23 Management makarius@uakron.edu 7705
Gina Martino - 24 History gmartinotrutor@uakron.edu 7712
Timothy Matney - 23* Anthropology matney@uakron.edu 6892
Hillary Nunn - 23 English nunn@uakron.edu 7601
Stacey Nofziger - 24 Sociology sn18@uakron.edu 5364
Jeffrey Pellegrino- 23 Schl of Disaster Sci & Em Svs jpellegrino@uakron.edu 8015
Zhenmeng Peng - 23 Chem & Biomolecular Eng zpeng@uakron.edu 5810
John Senko - 23 Geosciences senko@uakron.edu 8047
Adam Smith - 23* Chemistry asmith5@uakron.edu 5698
Mahesh Srinivasan - 23* Management maheshs@uakron.edu 5440
Mary Triece - 23 Communication mtriece@uakron.edu 6222
Mesfin Tsige - 23* Polymer Science mtsige@uakron.edu 5631
Markus Vogl - 23 Art mvv@uakron.edu 5952
Amanda Weinstein - 23 Economics aweinstein@uakron.edu 7975

Faculty Rights & Responsibilities

This committee shall concern itself with grievances relating to faculty assessment or evaluation, appointment, retention, tenure, and promotion. This committee shall be composed of one member from the tenured faculty of each degree-granting college, elected by its full-time faculty and one full-time faculty member from the university libraries, elected by its full-time faculty.

Email Discussion List

Name College Email Phone Ext.
Kate Budd -  BCAS kbudd@uakron.edu 8208
Katie Cerrone -  CAST kc24@uakron.edu 8809
Sucharita Ghosh -  CBA sghosh1@uakron.edu 7549
Sherry Gamble -  CHP slg@uakron.edu 7885
Evonn Welton -  EDU ewelton@uakron.edu 6742
Brant Lee -  LAW btlee@uakron.edu 6752
Marilia Antunez - LIBRARY lott@uakron.edu 2318
Mark Foster -  POLYMER mdf1@uakron.edu 5203
Paul Weinstein - WAYNE pbweinstein@uakron.edu 8715

General Education Advisory Committee (CRC subcommittee)

GEAC shall be responsible for reviewing curriculum change proposals that affect general education requirements. 

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Janet Bean - 23 English jbean@uakron.edu 6354
Frederick Beuk - 25 Marketing beuk@uakron.edu 7903
Stacia Biddle - 23* Allied Health stacia@uakron.edu 7906
Toni Bisconti - 23* Psychology tb33@uakron.edu 5852
Katie Cerrone - 23 Math kc24@uakron.edu 8809
Elisha Dumser - 23 Art edumser@uakron.edu 8063
Eugenia Gorogianni - 23 Anthropology eg20@uakron.edu 8069
Jennifer Hebert - 23 English jgh2@uakron.edu 7605
John Huss - 23 Philosophy jh76@uakron.edu 8023
Susan Kushner Benson - 25 Education snk@uakron.edu 8577
Michael Levin - 23* History mlevin@uakron.edu 7515
Michael Monaco - 23 Univ Libraries mmonaco@uakron.edu 2446
Scott Sawyer - 23 Engineering ssawyer@uakron.edu 8543
Katie Stoynoff - 23 English cf@uakron.edu 7480
Martin Wainwright - 23 History mwainwright@uakron.edu 6512
Lia Wiley - 25 Sociology lmc73@uakron.edu 7951

Part-time Faculty Committee

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Marilia Antunez - 24 University Libraries mantunez@uakron.edu 6262
Shawn Bixler- 23 Part-time faculty sbixler@uakron.edu 5482
Kathryn Budd - 25 Art kbudd@uakron.edu 8208
Marie Cobb - 25 Nursing mbcobb@uakron.edu 6674
Stephanie Davis-Dieringer Exercise Sci & Nutrition Sci sad@uakron.edu 7473
Melissa Dreisbach - 23* Sports Science & Wellness mdk24@uakron.edu 2341
Doug Hausknecht - 25 Bus Tech - Wayne hauskne@uakron.edu 8700
James McHugh - 25 Political Science mchugh@uakron.edu 8061
Harvey Sterns - 25 Inst for Life-Span Dev & Ger sternsh@uakron.edu 6724

Program Review Committee

Reviews the self-studies submitted by program faculty, providing formative assessment to the program faculty. Establishes the template and guidelines for the program review self-studies and modifies the timeline for the program review process and the program review schedule as needed. The dean of the graduate school or said person's designee shall be an ex-officio member of the program review committee.

Email Discussion List

Name College Email Phone Ext.
Craig Wise - co-chair Engineering cw47@uakron.edu 6858
Jennifer Hebert - ex officio Assessment jgh2@uakron.edu 6062
Jutta Luettmer-Strathmann Arts & Sciences jutta@uakron.edu 8029
Lynne Pachnowski Arts & Sciences lmp@uakron.edu 7115
Scott Palasik Health & Human Sci spalasik@uakron.edu 8185
Marnie Saunders- co-chair Graduate School mms129@uakron.edu 6590
Linda Shanks Health & Human Sci shanks@uakron.edu 6699
Shengyong Wang  Engineering wangs@uakron.edu 8616

Reference Committee

Reviews legislation referred to it by faculty senate to ascertain if it is drafted properly and does not conflict with existing rules and regulations or practices.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Kelly Bialek -  Polymer Science kelly.bialek@uakron.edu 6153
Kathryn Budd -  Art kbudd@uakron.edu 8208
Dana Cole -  Law dkc@uakron.edu 7960
Joseph Livecchi - Philosophy jplivec@uakron.edu 7095

Student Affairs Committee

Recommends policy, subject to approval of faculty senate, regarding the granting of scholarships, awards, grants, and loans to university students. Proposes regulations concerning all extracurricular activities (except athletics) to faculty senate.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Stacia Biddle - 23* Allied Health stacia@uakron.edu 7906
Will Crissey - 23 Computer Science wcrisseyjr@gmail.com 8013
Dana Cole - 23* Law dkc@uakron.edu 7960
Yue Dang - 25 School of Counseling yd13@uakron.edu 7118
Anne Jorgensen - 23 Athletics ajorgen@uakron.edu 8555
Rachele Kappler - 23 Sport Science & Wellness kappler@uakron.edu 6524
Lori Kidd - 23 Nursing kidd@uakron.edu 6703
Natacha Keramidas - 25 Counseling & Testing Nlk16@uakron.edu 7082
Charles Oldfield - 25 Law cwo@uakron.edu 6750
Chrys Wesdemiotis -24 Chemistry wesdemi@uakron.edu 7699

University Libraries Committee

Serves as an advisory group to the dean of university libraries to express the faculty will in the growth and development of the academic support which the libraries supply. Provides the dean of university libraries with guidelines and advice on acquisitions, budget, policy, and other matters affecting academic areas.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Aimee DeChambeau (ex officio) Univ Libraries daimee@uakron.edu 7488
Michael Graham - 23 History mfg@uakron.edu 7826
Angela Hartsock - 23* Biology - Wayne ahartsock1@uakron.edu 8795
Travis Hreno - 25 Philosophy th34@uakron.edu 8031
Jodi Kearns - 23 Cummings Center jkearns@uakron.edu 7952
Jennifer Lillard - 24 Eng Sci Tech jlillard@uakron.edu 5349
Jon Miller - 25* English mjon@uakron.edu 5717
David Szalay - 23 Art dms@uakron.edu 8202

ad hoc Scholarly Communications Committee

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
Susan Altmeyer Law Library saltmeyer@uakron.edu 7764
Aimee DeChambeau UL Dean aimee@uakron.edu 7488
Jeffrey Franks UL Rsrch & Lrng Srvcs  jfranks@uakron.edu 6052
Jodi Kearns Psych Archives jkearns@uakron.edu 8487
Ian McCullough UL Sci & Tech ibm@uakron.edu 6264
Jon Miller* English mjon@uakron.edu 5717
Hillary Nunn English nunn@uakron.edu 7601

ad hoc Academic Investment Committee 

Reviews proposals for academic investment submitted by faculty members and identifies investment needs and priorities based on annual metrics. Defines and communicates the methodology to be used in the proposals, and communicates the criteria used to evaluate the proposals to the faculty. Makes recommendations for academic investment to faculty senate. One non-voting ex officio committee member is designated by the Provost. Full-time faculty only may serve on this committee.

Email Discussion List

Name Department Email Phone Ext.
David Bastidas Engineering dbastidas@uakron.edu
Pat Gaughan Law pgaughan@uakron.edu
Travis Hreno Philosophy th34@uakron.edu
Varunee (Fi) Sangganjanavanich Counseling vfs@uakron.edu
Linda Shanks Nursing shanks@uakron.edu
Mahesh Srinivasan Management ms128@uakron.edu
Chrys Wesdemiotis Chemistry wesdemiotis@uakron.edu
Jun Ye Statistics jye1@uakron.edu