Scholarships for Transfer Students

Transfer Student Scholarships range from $2,000 to $2,500, divided evenly over two semesters. Mid-year transfers would receive only the spring half of the award, if funds are available. Students transferring to The University of Akron with at least 24 semester hours of undergraduate credit earned after graduating from high school must apply and submit final transcripts by the deadlines listed below to be considered for scholarships. Transfer scholarship recipients may also receive an Honors Scholarship if admitted to the Honors College. Renewable.

Application Deadline: May 1 (for fall semester)
Nov. 1 (for spring semester)
Submit final transcripts by: June 15 (for fall semester)
Dec. 30 (for spring semester)
Transfer GPA requirement: $2,500 award: 3.50 GPA
$2,000 award: 3.25 GPA
Renewal GPA
(maximum six full-time semesters):

Submit the Transfer Student Undergraduate Scholarship Application.

Phi Theta Kappa  Scholarships of $1,000 are available to qualifying transfer students who are active members of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.  Students should submit proof of active membership and the Transfer Student Undergraduate Scholarship Application.

‘Akron Advantage’ out-of-state scholarship program

The University of Akron offers to qualified non-Ohio residents scholarship awards that are applied to the out-of-state tuition charges. Akron Advantage scholarships are in addition to any other scholarships you receive.

Akron Advantage Gold Award

The Akron Advantage Gold Award is an annual $9,000 scholarship.

In addition to being a non-resident of Ohio and a first-time, full-time freshman or transfer student at the University, students from one of the 49 states outside of Ohio and all United States territories must meet two of the following criteria:

  • High school GPA minimum of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale (based on sixth semester transcript)
  • Top 10 percent of high school class
  • ACT composite score minimum of 25 or SAT combined score (critical reading and math) minimum of 1130 (critical reading and math)
  • Transfer GPA minimum of 3.25 with 24 semester hours earned after high school

Students who meet the Gold Award criteria are ineligible to also receive the Blue Award.

Was this information helpful?