# The University of Akron Minutes of Graduate Council November 14, 2016

The Graduate Council met on Monday, November 14, 2016, in the Student Union, Room 335. Dean Chand Midha presided. Present were Dr. Philip Allen, Associate Dean Charles Beneke, Dr. Marcus Braga-Alves, Dr. Gary Holliday, Dr. Ronald Otterstetter, Dr. Judit Puskas, Dr. Martha Santos, Dr. Shivakumar Sastry, Dr. John Senko, Dr. James Steiger, Dr. Harvey Sterns, and Dr. Baffour Takyi.

GC Members Absent with Notice: Dr. Amanda Booher, Dr. Qetler Jensrud, Dr. Andrew Thomas, Dr. Margaret Tung, and Dr. Nicole Zacharia.

# Call to Order

Dean Midha called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

### **Roll Call**

Heather Blake recorded the attendance of those present.

### **Approval of Minutes**

Minutes of the September 26, 2016 meeting were approved without dissent.

Minutes of the October 17, 2016 meeting were approved without dissent.

### **Remarks – Dean Midha**

Dean Midha stated that he and Associate Dean Beneke attended the Chancellor's Council on Graduate Studies retreat last month at Mohican State Lodge. Graduate Deans from other state institutions attended. It was a good opportunity for information sharing. He said that graduate assistantship funding was a topic for discussion, and some of the graduate deans provided information on what they spend on tuition awards. This was shared with both the President and Provost. Members noted that the stipend levels at UA were higher than that at comparable institutions in the state.

Dr. Puskas requested information on what was spent last year by colleges. She stated it would also be helpful to know what those colleges brought in. Dr. Sastry will get this information for the last three years.

### **Committee Reports**

<u>Curriculum Committee</u> – Dr. Allen presented a log of 7 proposals reviewed and approved by the committee: A&S-POLSC-16-18659, A&S-POLSC-16-18662, A&S-ARTSCO-16-19125, A&S-ARTSCO-16-19128, A&S-ARTSCO-16-19131, ENGR-ENGRDEAN-15-15448, and POLY-PENGR-16-17439. Approved by Council with nine votes of approval and two abstentions.

Dean Midha provided Dr. Allen with the request from the College of Business Administration to label Supply Chain Management as a STEM program. The Provost recommended that this go to the Curriculum Committee for review.

<u>Graduate Faculty Membership Committee</u> – Dr. Takyi presented a log of two graduate faculty applications as reviewed by the committee. Approved by Council.

Michael Graham V. Douglas Hicks

### **New Business**

### **Continuation of Strategic Initiatives Discussion**

Dean Midha stated that once the Ernst and Young report comes out, and there is a clear understanding of the financial situation the University is in, it will be necessary to look at the funding model for graduate assistantships that Graduate Council has been discussing.

### **Graduate Faculty Status Categories**

Dean Midha said that while attending the CCGS retreat there was discussion related to graduate faculty status and what policies and procedures exist at the other institutions. Now that there are a number of Professors of Practice or clinical faculty it is necessary to look at graduate faculty membership for such individuals, determining what the qualifications are teaching at the graduate-level.

Dean Midha added that there are administrators who get automatic graduate faculty status while serving in an administrative role, and often do not have time to publish. When no longer in an administrative role, they would be without graduate faculty status until having a publication. Awarding an Ad Hoc appointment would provide them with graduate faculty status, but they would not be permitted to direct theses or dissertations.

Dr. Sastry made a motion that a five-year Ad Hoc graduate faculty appointment be granted to tenured faculty members who have served as administrators and returned to the faculty without holding any graduate faculty status.

Dr. Allen seconded the motion. Approved by Council with eight votes for approval and one vote opposing.

Meeting adjourned at 10:20 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Shivakumar Sastry Secretary