COVID-19 updates

See our health and safety guidelines, and our plan to return to campus.

Scroll To Top

Learn More

Future of Accreditation

The Higher Learning Commission
has introduced the Pathways
model that will change future
reaffirmation processes.

Learn more about the
Pathways model.

Accredited - Higher Learning Commission North Central Association

Self-Study Writing Teams

The HLC Self-Study Steering Committee has recently formed writing teams to address the five areas of self-assessment. 

Criterion One: Mission

  • Team Leader: Julie Burdick, assistant vice president, Office of Academic Affairs
  • Thomas Calderon, professor, Accounting
  • Elaine Fisher, professor, Nursing
  • Bridgie Ford, professor, Curricular & Instructional Studies
  • Ali Hajjafar, professor, Mathematics
  • Peter Leahy, senior research associate, IBSR
  • Jim Slowiak, professor; Dance, Theatre & Arts Administration

Criterion Two: Ethical and Responsible Conduct

  • Team Leader: Elizabeth Reilly, Emeritus Professor, School of Law
  • Dale Adams, assistant director, Student Judicial Affairs
  • Frank Bove, associate professor, University Libraries Electronic Services
  • Kate Clark, associate professor, Communication
  • Carolyn Dessin, professor, Law
  • Paul Herold, assistant secretary, Board of Trustees
  • Eric Kreider, application services technical lead, Application Systems Services
  • Katie Watkins-Wendell, director, Research Services and Sponsored Programs
  • Stephanie Woods, professor, Nursing

Criterion Three: Teaching and Learning - Quality, Resources, and Support

  • Team Leader: Stacey Moore, associate vice president, Student Affairs
  • Janet Bean, associate professor, English
  • Annie Hanson, manager continuing education and outreach, College of Engineering
  • Shari Laster, assistant professor, University Libraries Research & Learning Services
  • John Messina, assistant vice president, Residence Life & Housing
  • Laura Monroe, coordinator writing lab, Student Academic Success
  • Georgia Peeples, professor, Music
  • Linda Saliga, associate professor, Mathematics
  • John Savery, director, Instructional Services
  • Bill Torgler, assistant director, Academic Advisement Center for Campus Outreach and Development
  • Naomi White, assistant professor, Social Work

Criterion Four: Teaching and Learning - Evaluation and Improvement

  • Team Leader: Linda Subich, associate dean and professor, Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences
  • Sabrina Andrews, director, Institutional Research
  • Joan Carletta, associate professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Elizabeth Kennedy, professor, Associate Studies
  • Timothy Matney, professor, Anthropology and Classical Studies
  • Susan Olson, associate dean, Education
  • Adam Smith, assistant vice president for student success, Center for Student Success
  • Mark Tausig, associate dean, Graduate School
  • Don Visco, associate dean, Engineering
  • Stephen Weeks, professor, Biology

Criterion Five: Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

  • Team Leader: Harvey Sterns, professor, Psychology
  • Stephen Brooks, associate professor, Political Science
  • Elizabeth Erickson, associate professor, Economics
  • Amber Hunt, position management analyst senior, Resource Analysis and Budgeting
  • William Jordan, associate dean, School of Law
  • Anne Jorgensen, associate athletic director, Student Athlete Academic Services
  • John Kline, library cataloging specialist, University Libraries
  • Timothy Lillie, associate professor, Curricular & Instructional Studies
  • Emeka Ofobike, associate professor, Accounting