Office of International Programs

International College Ambassador 

Funded by a gift from the University of Akron Women’s Committee and administered jointly with the Office of International Program, the International College Ambassador Scholarship each year awards $2500 to one UA student who studies abroad for a minimum of one semester.  In return, that student serves as the University of Akron’s International College Ambassador for one academic year, during which term he or she commits to speaking about his or her experience abroad to various campus and community groups.  Students interested in applying should consult the Financial and Scholarships page for more details.

Sara Auclair
International College Ambassador


Sara Auclair is a Senior majoring in both History and Spanish with a goal of obtaining and doctorate in Latin American History.  To enhance her academic pursuits, she studied at Universidad de Belgrano in Buenos Aires, Argentina, during Fall Semester 2012. 

Read about Sara in her own words: Bio

To request Sara speak to your class or group, please click here: Request a Speaker

Samuel Rhoades
International College Ambassador

Samuel Rhoades

Samuel Rhoades is a rising Junior majoring in Mechanical Engineering with an interest in applying his knowledge toward improving the environment.  During Fall Semester 2013, he will study at Kingston University in Kingston upon Thames (greater London), England.

Past International College Ambassadors:

2012-2013:   Daniel Hovatter, Kansai Gaidai University, Hirakata, Japan
2011-2012:   Seth Madden, Hanzehogeschool Groningen, Groningen, The Netherlands
2010-2011:   Katie Moran, Universidad de Alcalá, Alcalá de Henares, Spain
2009-2010:   Jon-Michael Durkin, Kansai Gaidai University, Hirakata, Japan
2008-2009:   Nichole Barnes, Université Paris IV Paris-Sorbonne, Paris, France
2007-2008:   Renee Warren, Huron University, London, England, United Kingdom
2006-2007:   Matthew Considine, University College Cork, Cork, Ireland
2005-2006:   Candace Kellackey, Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Monterrey, Mexico
2004-2005:   Kelly Klika, University of Wolverhampton, Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
2003-2004:   Yakini Hawkins, Universidad Autónoma de Guadalajara, Guadalajara, Mexico
2002-2003:   Julie Sadar, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Australia
2001-2002:   Joshua Davis, University of Luton, Luton, England, United Kingdom
2000-2001:   Stephen Teeters, Eastern Michigan University: European Cultural History Tour Program
1999-2000:   Taruna Rai, University of Wolverhampton, Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1999-2000:   Casey O’Linn, National University of Ireland, Dublin, Ireland
1998-1999:   Matthew Chase, Hanzehogeschool Groningen, Groningen, The Netherlands
1997-1998:   Cynthia Aulger, University of Wolverhampton, Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1996-1997:   Cara Gadel, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany, and Université catholique de l'Ouest,                             Angers, France
1995-1996:   Sheila Dharod, Haifa University, Israel
1994-1995:   Larraine Freeman, Universidad Interamericana de Puerto Rico, San Germán, Puerto Rico
1993-1994:   Kimberly Marsh, Universidad Autónoma de Guadalajara, Guadalajara, Mexico
1992-1993:   None
1991-1992:   Jon Miller, Bo─čaziçi University, Istanbul, Turkey
1990-1991:   Scuola di Lingua e Cultura Italiana per Stranieri, Siena, Italy

The University of Akron

Akron, OH 44325
Phone: 330-972-7111
Contact us
Send mail & deliveries to UA