Colleges and universities across the United States voluntarily seek accreditation to ensure they are maintaining quality standards, and use it as an opportunity for continuous improvement. Regional accreditation also ensures that students at colleges and universities are eligible for federally-based financial aid programs.

UA is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission — one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States.

In addition to university-wide accreditation, schools, departments and individual academic programs may earn discipline-specific accreditation.

University of Akron campus

University-wide Accreditation and Related Links

Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604

Academic Program and Discipline Accreditations