## The University of Akron

## **Contract Professional Advisory Committee**

### 2008-2009 Committee Meeting

#### Minutes

Meeting Date:	August 20, 2008
Call to Order:	3:00 p.m.
Membership:	Greg Dieringer, Amy Gilliland, Mary Jane Grebenc, John Gurnak, Nan Whitsel, Laura Conley, Cyndee Ramsthaler, Charlene Kemp-Queener, Michelle Ellis, Jeanette Carson
Ex-officio:	Kent Marsden (President Pro-Tem)
Attendance:	Greg Dieringer, Amy Gilliland, Mary Jane Grebenc, Cyndee Ramsthaler, Jeanette Carson. Kent Masrsden, Phil Hoffman, Matt Petras

#### Agenda, Action, & Discussion:

- 1. Recommendation of Appointments to CPAC (one Presidential Appointee and two CPAC Appointees).
  - a. Recommendation to submit Matt Petras as the Presidential Appointee and Karen Dickerson and Phil Hoffman as the CPAC Appointees. Voted on each appointee, and it was unanimously passed to accept all three appointments.
  - b. Notification will be submitted to the Office of the President regarding the appointment of Matt Petras.
- 2. Appoint Vice-Chair for 2008-2009
  - a. Follow-up from the recommendation at the first meeting to elect a new member so they would be able to continue to serve as the future CPAC Chair.
  - b. Jeanette Carson agreed to be nominated for CPAC Vice Chair.
  - c. Motion to nominate Jeanette Carson was proposed and accepted. A vote was taken to appoint Jeanette Carson as the Vice Chair of CPAC, and it was unanimously passed. Operations Advisory Committee
- 3. Operations Advisory Committee
  - a. Recommendation to submit three to four CPAC members to Joan Kaye, and the Provost would make the selection.
  - b. Laura Conley, Jeanette Carson, and Amy Gilliland agreed to have their names submitted.
- 4. Recommendation of new CPAC members as Presidential Appointments. Need 1 person to fill position.
  - a. Mary Jane Grebenc was elected to a two year term. Names for this appointment are forwarded to the president for approval.
- 5. Grievance Committee for 2008-2009.
  - a. Members voted upon to serve during the August 6, 2008 meeting: Laura Conley, Michelle Ellis, John Gurnak, and Amy Gilliland.
  - b. Additional members unanimously voted on to serve during the Aug 20, 2008 meeting: Cyndee Ramsthaler, Phil Hoffman, and Karen Dickerson.
- 6. Updates
  - a. Amy Gilliland informed the committee that the Smoking Task Force would be submitted a report, and a formal proposal would go the Board of Trustees this fall.

#### August 20, 2008

# **Minutes Page 2**

Meeting Times 2008-2009.

Meeting times will be the third Wednesday of each month at 3:00 pm in the Student Union. Greg will send notifications out through OUTLOOK.

## Meeting Adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

**Next Meeting: Wednesday, September 17, 2008 at 3 p.m.** Location: **TBA** Submitted by: Greg Dieringer for Charlene Kemp-Queener