The University of Akron

Contract Professional Advisory Committee

2008-2009 Committee Meeting

Minutes

Meeting Date: August 6, 2008

Call to Order: 3:00 p.m.

Membership: Greg Dieringer, Amy Gilliland, Mary Jane Grebenc, John Gurnak, Nan Whitsel, Laura Conley,

Cyndee Ramsthaler, Charlene Kemp-Queener, Michelle Ellis, Jeanette Carson

Ex-officio: Kent Marsden (President Pro-Tem)

Attendance: Greg Dieringer, Amy Gilliland, Mary Jane Grebenc, John Gurnak, Nan Whitsel, Laura Conley,

Cyndee Ramsthaler, Charlene Kemp-Queener

Agenda, Action, & Discussion:

1. Appointment President Pro-tem (Kent Marsden). Appoint Chair of Committee:

- a. Greg Dieringer was voted Chair of the Committee for 2008-2009
- 2. Appoint Vice-Chair for 2008-2009
 - a. Recommended that new member be elected. Suggested that Jeanette Carson be contacted to inquire of willingness to serve.
 - b. It was tabled that the Vice Chair position be Elect.
- 3. Appoint Recording Secretary for 2008-2009
 - a. Charlene Kemp-Queener volunteered and was voted in as Recording Secretary.
- 4. Appoint Ex-Officio members as necessary.
 - a. Recommendation was to add as Ex-Officio Kent Marsden, and A.G. Monaco. It was voted upon and unanimously passed.
- 5. Appoint Board of Trustee meeting attendee.
 - a. Nan Whitsel nominated and voted in to serve.
- 6. Recommendation of new CPAC members as Presidential Appointments. Need 1 person to fill position.
 - a. Mary Jane Grebenc was elected to a two year term. Names for this appointment are forwarded to the president for approval.
- 7. Recommendation of new CPAC members as CPAC appointments. Need 2 people to fill vacancies.
 - a. Discussion of using nominees from prior CPAC elections.
 - b. Recommendations were offered for Matt Petras, Phil Hoffman, and Karen Dickerson.
 - c. All were nominated and voted upon to fill the vacancies.
 - d. Greg would contact the nominees to confirm their interest in serving on CPAC.
- 8. Members will be elected to standing committee as necessary.

August 6, 2008 Minutes Page 2

- 9. Grievance Committee for 2008-2009.
 - a. Members voted upon to serve: Karen Dickerson, Laura Conley, Michelle Ellis John Gurnak, Amy Gilliland, Jeanette Carson, and Phil Hoffman.
- 10. Faculty Senators need two for 2008-2009.
 - a. John Gurnak will serve until the new Faculty Senate Structure in place which is slated to be in effective January 2009.
- 11. Members will be appointed to the Project Charter Committee as necessary
- 12. Shared Governance University Council
 - a. Kent will continue to serve until the University Structure is completed.
- 13. Shared Leadership Awards Committee
 - a. Someone will be sent to committee when CPAC is notified
- 14. Zip Line Committee
 - a. Matt Petras will be asked to serve.
- 15. Safety Committee
 - a. Mary Jane Grebenc will continue to serve. Under the new structure, there will be no standing committee of University Council. Meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month.
- 16. IT Committee
 - a. Matt Petras was voted upon to serve a two year term.
- 17. Operations Advisory Committee
 - a. Cyndee Ramsthaler was voted upon to be recommended to serve on this committee. The Provost uses this committee for advisory purposes and must be modeled into University Council Structure. CPAC sends names to Provost and she will pick candidates for this committee based upon nominations.
- 18. University Group Insurance committee (Wellness).
 - a. Sue McKibben was voted upon to be reappointed to serve.
- 19. Newsletter Committee
 - a. Michelle Ellis will continue to be chair of this committee.

Establish meeting times/locations for 2008-2009.

Meeting times were voted upon to be the third Wednesday of each month at 3:00 pm in the Student Union. Greg will send notifications out through OUTLOOK.

Old Business:

- University Council Structure
- CPAC Annual Report
- Public Sector Institution that is unionized must establish shared governance university council. The document has been in the draft stage for two years and is awaiting constituent's feedback. Feedback must be received before 1/12/09. Circulate among constituents to get input.

New Business:

None

Meeting Adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Next Meeting: Wednesday, 3:00 p. m. August 20, 2008

Submitted by: Charlene Kemp-Queener