

University Council

MINUTES NOVEMBER 22, 2011 8 – 9:30 A.M.

MEETING CALLED BY	Mike Sherman
TYPE OF MEETING	Initial Organization Meeting
FACILITATOR	Mike Sherman
NOTE TAKER	Kim Haverkamp
ATTENDEES	Mike Sherman, Dale Adams, Jim Boyes, Matt Bungard, Julie Burdick, Gustavo Carri, Cheryl Collins-Slusarczyk, David Cummins, Ted Curtis, Kelly Daw, Alexa Doutt, Elizabeth Erickson, Charlie Fey, Kim Gentile, Jessica Goerke, Kim Haverkamp, Wayne Hill, Becky Hoover, John Kline, Eileen Korey, John LaGuardia, Timothy Lillie, Sue McKibben, Chand Midha, Stacey Moore, George Newkome, Justin Orashan, Andrea Pavlichich, Nancy Roadruck, Jim Sage, Shivakumar Sastry, Steve Sedlock, Laura Spray, Bob Stachowiak, Tom Wistrcill, David Witt Absent: Karastin Katusin, Excused: Kent Marsden, Jim McHugh, Harvey Sterns

Agenda topics

8:00 – 8:30 UNIVERSITY COUNCIL OVERVIEW MIKE SHERMAN

DISCUSSION	The Exploratory Committee was recognized and introductions were made. Dr. Sherman explained the structure and procedures for University Council. The PowerPoint presentation is on the SharePoint site: https://sps.uakron.edu/committees/UC/SitePages/Home.aspx
CONCLUSIONS	

ACTION ITEMS		PERSON RESPONSIBLE	DEADLINE			
3:30 - 9:00	SHAREPOINT, WEBSITE, ISSUE BRIEF RE	VIEW	JULIE BURDICK			
	Julie Burdick demonstrated the University Council website, SharePoint site, and Issue					
	Brief Survey. The UC SharePoint site can be accessed from the UC website. The					
DISCUSSION	Brief Survey will be linked to the UC SharePoir	·				
	Issue Brief Survey document that can be used	as a template in Standing Co	ommittees.			
	Standing Committees must complete the onlin	ne format of the Issue Brief S	urvey to			
CONCLUSIONS	submit issues for a decision by University Cou	ncil.				
ACTION ITEMS		PERSON RESPONSIBLE	DEADLINE			
9:00 – 9:25	STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS	STANDING CO	MMITTEE CHAIRS			
	Chairs reported on the progress of their Stand	ling Committee meetings and	d the focus			
areas for the upcoming year.						
	Dr. Sherman suggested that the next step for	Standing Committees be to o	determine the			
CONCLUSIONS						
ACTION ITEMS		PERSON RESPONSIBLE	DEADLINE			

DISCUSSION	The decision was made to hold the UC Steering Committee election at the next meeting. The positions available are: co-chair, vice chair, secretary, and two at-large members. These positions will be held by non-administrator members. Three nominations were made for the chair position: Kent Marsden, Tim Lillie, and Bob Stachowiak. These candidates will submit a written statement of interest before the next meeting.					
CONCLUSIONS	CONCLUSIONS					
ACTION ITEMS		PERSON RESPONSIBLE	DEADLINE			

Next University Council Meeting: Tues., December 6, 2011, 8 – 9:30 a.m., Student Union Ballroom B



University Council

MINUTES DECEMBER 6, 2011 8 – 9:30 A.M.

MEETING CALLED BY	Mike Sherman
TYPE OF MEETING	Monthly Meeting
FACILITATOR	Mike Sherman
NOTE TAKER	Kim Haverkamp
	Dale Adams, Jim Boyes, Matt Bungard, Julie Burdick, Cheryl Collins-Slusarczyk, David Cummins, Ted Curtis, Kelly Daw, Alexa Doutt, Elizabeth Erickson, Charlie
	Fey, Kim Gentile, Jessica Goerke, Kim Haverkamp, Wayne Hill, Becky Hoover, John
	Kline, Eileen Korey, Timothy Lillie, Kent Marsden, Sue McKibben, Stacey Moore,
	Justin Orashan, Andrea Pavlichich, Jim Sage, Mike Sherman, Shivakumar Sastry,
ATTENDEES	Steve Sedlock, Laura Spray, Harvey Sterns, Tom Wistrcill, David Witt
	Absent: Gustavo Carri, Jim McHugh, Nancy Roadruck
	Excused: Karastin Katusin, John LaGuardia, Chand Midha, George Newkome, Bob
	Stachowiak

Agenda topics

8:05 – 8:15 OPENING REMARKS MIKE SHERMAN

DISCUSSION	A motion was made to begin the meeting. The minutes were read and approved. They are posted on the UC SharePoint site: https://sps.uakron.edu/committees/UC/SitePages/Home.aspx
CONCLUSIONS	

:15 – 9:00	ELECTION OF OFFICERS Nominations were made, nominees accepted		
15 – 9:00			
	Nominations were made nominees accepted		MIKE SHERMA
DISCUSSION	remarks, and votes were cast by secret ballot. constituency group to count votes. Nominations were: Co-Chair: Tim Lillie, Kent Marsden, Bostatement of interest prior to the mee Vice Chair: Kent Marsden, Jim Boyes Secretary: Nancy Roadruck First and Second At-Large Members: Gorke, Bob Stachowiak, David Witt (a second at-large member elections tog elected)	Tellers were selected from the selected from the setting) Sue McKibben, Stacey Mandion was made to hole	om each submitted a loore, Jessica d the first and
CONCLUSIONS	Officers elected were: Co-Chair: Tim Lillie Vice Chair: Kent Marsden Secretary: Nancy Roadruck First At Large Member: Jessica Gorke There was a tie between Sue McKibben and Staballot to break the tie. Second At Large Member: Sue McKibben	tacey Moore. A vote was	taken by secret

9	٠n	n	_	۵		1	n	١
Э.	. U	u	_	"	٠.	1	u	

COMMITTEE UPDATES/NEW BUSINESS

TIM LILLIE

	Physical Environment Committee is meeting with Sasaki this week. Athletics cancelled							
DISCUSSION	the December meeting because of the Sasaki visit and will convene in January for a tour							
21300331011	of the athletic facilities. No new business was proposed.							
CONCLUSIONS	Roberts Rules of Order instructions will be provided to members.							
ACTION ITEMS		PERSON RESPONSIBLE	DEADLINE					
9:10 - 9:20	- 9:20 ANNOUNCEMENTS MIKE SHERMAN/TIM LILLIE							
	President Proenza will attend the next meetin	g on January 17, 8 – 9:30 a.n	n. UC Steering					
	Committee will meet prior to the January 17 th	meeting. Standing Committ	ee Chairs					
DISCUSSION	should send documents they would like Unive	rsity Council to know or disc	uss to Nancy					
D13C03310N	Roadruck (nancy5@uakron.edu) and copy Kim	n Haverkamp (<u>kh1@uakron.e</u>	du) one week					
	prior to the next UC meeting.							
CONCLUSIONS								
ACTION ITEMS		PERSON RESPONSIBLE	DEADLINE					