Namani earns 2023 Rosalind Franklin Society Special Award in Science


Dr. Trishool Namani, a former postdoctoral fellow at The University of Akron (UA), has been awarded the 2023 Rosalind Franklin Society Special Award in Science. This prestigious accolade recognizes Namani's exceptional achievements and profound dedication to scientific discovery.  

TrishoolNamani_RFS.jpegDr. Trishool Namani

In 2019, Namani joined the Sahai Research Group at UA, which focuses on the fundamental physical-chemical interactions between biological molecules or cells and mineral surfaces in processes relevant to the origins of life and bone biomineralization.  

“I am absolutely delighted that Dr. Namani has received the Rosalind Franklin Society Special Award in Science. Namani embodies the highest virtues as a scientist, and even more importantly, as a human being. I cannot think of a more worthy recipient of the RFS Special Award,” said Dr. Nita Sahai, professor and Ohio Research Scholar in the School of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering and head of the Sahai Research Group. “Namani has shared his expertise generously with other team-members in my lab, while also effectively managing my laboratory. He always dealt with everyone with ultimate patience and kindness and showed true integrity in his work. The Sahai Research Group is very grateful for his contributions to our lab and very proud of his achievements.”   

The Rosalind Franklin Society, established to champion equity and representation in science, continues to honor individuals like Namani who embody the spirit of groundbreaking discovery and inclusivity in scientific research. 

"This prestigious accolade comes as a delightful surprise, and I am profoundly grateful for this recognition. I extend my deepest gratitude to each member of our team, as this achievement would not have been possible without our combined efforts," stated Namani. "Special thanks to Dr. Sahai for her unwavering support and for entrusting me with this project."
About RFS 
The Rosalind Franklin Society, the only organization of its kind, was established in 2007 by Mary Ann Liebert, founder, and chairman of Mary Ann Liebert, Inc., a leading independent publisher of scientific, technical, and medical content, now in its 44th year. The society’s esteemed president is Rita Colwell, Ph.D., Distinguished University Professor, Department of Cell Biology & Molecular Genetics, University of Maryland, founder and chair of CosmosID, and past president of the National Science Foundation. Equity and representation in science matter more than ever, and the Rosalind Franklin Society continues its mission to recognize, foster, and advance the critical contributions of women and underrepresented minorities in science.