About Us

Omicron Delta Kappa Theta Circle at The University of Akron was founded on April 29, 1922, making it the eighth oldest chapter in the country and the only one to be chartered in 1922.

Since its founding 90 years ago, the organization has carefully extended membership only to those who truly exhibit leadership and achievement in:

  • Scholarship
  • Athletics
  • Campus/ Community Service, Social/Religious Activities, and Campus Government
  • Journalism, Speech and the Mass Media
  • Creative and Performing Arts

The Purpose of The Omicron Delta Kappa Society is Threefold:

First, to recognize those who have attained a high standard of efficiency in collegiate activities and to inspire others to strive for conspicuous attainments along similar lines;

Second, to bring together the most representative students in all phases of collegiate life and thus to create an organization which will help to mold the sentiment of the institution on questions of local and intercollegiate interest;

Third, to bring together members of the faculty and student body of the institution, as well as other Omicron Delta Kappa members, on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness.

Notable Theta Circle Members

  • Cokie Roberts, 1995
    Award-winning broadcast journalist on Nightline and Good Morning America.
  • Yvette Nicole Brown, 1993
  • Donald Plusquellic, 1991
    Mayor, City of Akron
  • William H. Considine, 1968
    President and CEO, Akron Children's Hospital

2012-13 Officers

  • Michael Minnick
  • Kaylee Schuster
  • Allisa Mertin
  • Denise Testa
    Faculty Adviser
  • Dr. Karla Mugler
    Faculty Secretary