Ray C. and Ellen P. Bliss Scholarship

Department: Bliss Institute
Undergraduate/Graduate: Undergraduate
Distribution: Awarded Annually, Distributed Biannually

This endowed fund was established in 1982 under the will of the late Ray C. Bliss, Class of 1935. Ray Bliss was a former member and chairman of The University of Akron Board of Trustees and served as a national chairman of the Republican Party. Earnings from the endowment are used to provide tuition scholarships for worthy students majoring in political science. Recipients are selected by the director of the Bliss Institute from the student body of the University with preference given to students from Summit and Stark Counties and Phi Kappa Tau fraternity.

Students must be undergraduate political science majors or undergraduates enrolled in the Bliss Institute Certificate of Applied Politics. Applicants are evaluated on the basis of their grade point average (overall and political science), participation in political activities, and commitment to the political process. 

Application Instructions

University Scholarships

  1. New freshman academic scholarships are awarded based on GPA and standardized test scores provided during the admissions process. Learn more.

  2. Transfer academic scholarships are awarded based on information provided on transfer scholarship application. Learn more.

  3. Major-specific and Honors scholarships are awarded based on completion of specific requirements.

  4. Endowed scholarships are awarded to some students who have demonstrated history of leadership, community service or other personal factors. 
  5. Non-Ohio residents may qualify for one of two out-of-state scholarship programs.

  6. Scholarships are also available from the Office of Accessibility, Military Services Center (for veterans) and ROTC.

  7. External scholarships are offered through Americorp and the Educational Training Voucher.

The University of Akron

Akron, OH 44325
Phone: 330-972-7111
Contact us
Send mail & deliveries to UA