Share on Google+

Undergraduate Tax Team Places in Top 10 Nationally


Undergraduate Tax TeamThe CBA’s undergraduate tax team has finished in the top 10 nationally in the 2010 Deloitte Tax Case Study Competition.

Each year, Deloitte invites students from more than 100 leading academic institutions to participate in a competition designed to encourage and inspire the next generation of tax leaders.  This year, 79 teams from around the country competed at 22 sites in the graduate and undergraduate divisions.

The School of Accountancy fielded both an undergraduate and a graduate team who participated at the Cleveland offices of Deloitte.  Teams of four students spent five hours on Saturday, October 23, 2010 analyzing real world business issues, solving complex tax challenges and competing for more than $100,000 in scholarship and institutional awards. 

The undergraduate team, made up of Maureen Aebi, Kristian Doty, Andy Frank, and Ian MacEwen, and led by Dr. Janet Mosebach, assistant professor of accounting, won an Honorable Mention award.  They received $200 per student and $2,000 for the School of Accountancy.

“This achievement directly reflects the motivation, dedication, and intellectual curiosity of this year’s team,” notes Dr. Mosebach.  “It also reflects the excellent undergraduate education they receive at UA, especially the tax curriculum provided by people like Al Lieberman, Jerry Apple, and Suzanne Gradisher.”

First place in the undergraduate division went to the team from Brigham Young University, for which they were awarded $2,000 per student and $10,000 for the institution.  The team from the College of William and Mary placed second, winning $1,000 per student and $2,500 for the institution.  The Boston College team finished 3rd and received $500 per student and $2,500 for their institution.

Other colleges receiving Honorable Mention awards in the undergraduate division were (in alphabetical order) University of Denver, Georgia State University,  John Carroll University,  University of Northern Colorado, Utah State University, and University of Wisconsin – Madison.

Although the CBA’s graduate team did not place in the top ten, team members Lanny Berlingieri, Niki Ford, Kristina Melomed (alternate), Jen Murphy, and Adam Vogel, worked very hard and spent many hours each weekend getting ready for the competition.

“These students were wonderful ambassadors for UA,” notes Dr. Mosebach.

The top finishers at the graduate level were 1st Place – Brigham Young University, 2nd Place – University of Central Florida and 3rd Place – University of Southern California. Honorable Mention awards went to Baruch College, Colorado State University, University of Florida, Georgia State University, University of Illinois, University of Mississippi, and University of North Carolina – Charlotte.

Thanks to both our graduate and undergraduate teams and their instructors for their hard work and dedication.