Share on Google+

CBA Honors Outstanding Students, Faculty and Business Leaders


On March 25, 2011, at an initiation ceremony and banquet attended by President Luis Proenza, Provost Mike Sherman, CBA faculty and staff, friends and faculty of the initiates, and members of the business community, the CBA honored 61 of the college’s best and brightest students, three faculty members and three business leaders.

The 28 juniors, 9 seniors and 24 graduate students were inducted into the CBA’s Kappa of Ohio Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, the international honor society that recognizes the best business students in AACSB-accredited colleges and universities worldwide. They represent the top 10 percent of the junior and senior classes and the top 20 percent of the graduate class.

Three CBA faculty members were also inducted: Terry Daugherty, assistant professor of marketing; John Matejkovic, associate professor of business law; and William McHenry, associate professor of management.

The Kappa of Ohio Chapter also recognized three members of the business community for possessing the qualities fostered by Beta Gamma Sigma and for furthering the ideals of the Society through outstanding business and managerial leadership.  Dr. Frank Douglas, president & CEO of Austen BioInnovation Institute in Akron, who was the guest speaker for the event; Daniel Mossop, director of information technology at Avery Dennison Corporation; and Ernest E. Pouttu ’86, president and CEO of Harwick Standard Distribution received the Chapter Honoree award and were accorded honorary membership in Beta Gamma Sigma.

Three students were recognized as the outstanding student in each rank. They were selected for achieving academic excellence while making significant contributions to the college or university; maintaining significant involvement in extracurricular or community activities; or overcoming a special circumstance or hardship. For 2010-11, the Outstanding Junior is Alyssa Medvec, the Outstanding Senior is Hannah Florian and the Outstanding Graduate Student is Elizabeth Blystone.

Bethany Guegold was selected as the recipient of the $1,000 Beta Gamma Sigma Scholarship for the upcoming 2011-2012 academic year.

In his address to the initiates, Dr. Douglas shared lessons he has learned on his personal journey of success including the importance of maintaining personal and professional integrity in the pursuit of one’s passion.

For more information, visit Beta Gamma Sigma's homepage.

BGS Initiation

Top row, from left to right: Jonathan Sandund, Michael Tippens, John Bartolotta, Jacob McMichael, Justin Hayes, Joseph Rich, Paul LiBassi, Nathan Klettlinger
Second row from top, left to right: Emily Zaubi, Abram Horsfall, Renee Oneacre, Ja’Nique Blocker, Cory Treharn, Matthew DiPietro, Jessica Pomfret, Douglas Maseka, Steven Wallace
Third row from top, left to right: Dr. William McHenry (Associate Professor, Management), Carrie Rogers, Michael Crivero II, Cassandra Campbell, Ryan Wasylik, Tamara Cope, Tyler Etcheberry, Anthony Cosentino, Raelyn Kendrick, Alyssa Medvec, Emily Berry, Mr. John Matejkovic (Associate Professor, Finance)
Fourth row from top, left to right: Hannah Florian, Stephanie Lubrano, Elaine Stoeberman, Carla Pizzino, Rachel Roan, Theresa Hileman, Elizabeth Blystone, Vatsala Verma, Nicole Fidler