Akron Law to Honor Outstanding Alumni and Faculty on May 11


The University of Akron School of Law Alumni Association will hold its annual Alumni Awards and Class Reunion Dinner at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, May 11 in the Student Union Ballroom. The honorees were chosen for their achievements in the legal profession and their communities.

The 2012 Outstanding Alumni Award honorees are Candace Campbell Jackson (’95), vice president and chief of staff, The University of Akron; Larry G. Poulos (’73) Rischitelli and Poulos in Hudson and retired chief magistrate of the Summit County Probate Court; The Honorable Lynn C. Slaby (’72) commissioner, Public Utilities Commission of Ohio; and Jay L. Vodofsky (’78), chief director for First Manhattan Co.

Robert Thomas, adjunct faculty member, will receive The John R. Quine Award as the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Member; Dean Martin H. Belsky, will receive the Thomas G. Byers Memorial Award for Outstanding Faculty Publication for his article “Electing our Judges and Judicial Independence: The Supreme Court’s ‘Triple Whammy’” and Robert L. Tucker (’84) will receive the Outstanding Alumni Publication Award for his article “Stolen Art, Looted Antiquities, and the Insurable Interest Requirement.”

Tickets for the dinner are $50 per person; $400 per table of eight. For registration information, visit here  or contact Sue Staats at 330-972-7246 or staats@uakron.edu.