UA to Celebrate the 200th Anniversary of Lincoln's Birth


Akron, Ohio, Feb. 2, 2009 - The University of Akron will commemorate the 200th anniversary of President Abraham Lincoln's birth with a celebration on Feb. 12 at noon at The University of Akron Student Union in the Student Theater. The event is free and open to the public.

The celebration will be a birthday celebration featuring light refreshments and an appearance from President Lincoln himself, as well as short presentations by the following Lincoln scholars:
Dr. Lesley Gordon, UA Dept. of History
Professor Wilson R. Huhn, UA School of Law
Dr. David Cohen, UA Dept. of Political Science
Professor Jeffrey M. Samuels, UA School of Law
Professor J. Dean Carro, UA School of Law
Professor Stephen Cook, UA School of Law

The presentations will cover topics such as President Lincoln's "Team of Rivals" concept; how his adversity affected his role as a leader, what the crisis at Fort Sumter revealed about President Lincoln as a military and political leader and President Lincoln's role as an inventor and patent holder.

The event is co-sponsored by the Constitutional Law Center at the UA School of Law, the UA Dept. of History, the UA Dept. of Political Science, the Ray C. Bliss Institute of Applied Politics and the Office of the Associate Vice President for Inclusion & Equity/CDO.

The University of Akron School of Law promotes justice, the protection of individual liberty and the rule of law through commitment to excellence in teaching, scholarship and service. The law school features nationally recognized programs in intellectual property and trial advocacy, as well as one of four Constitutional Law Centers in the United States. To learn more, visit

The University of Akron is the public research university for Northern Ohio. It is the only public university in Ohio with a science and engineering program ranked in the top five nationally by U.S. News & World Report. Serving 26,000 students, the university offers approximately 300 associate, bachelor's, master's, doctoral and law degree programs and 100 certificate programs at sites in Summit, Wayne, Medina and Holmes counties. For more information, visit