Phi Sigma Alpha Awards Scholarships


Akron, Ohio, June 19, 2007 - The University of Akron's Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences has welcomed 89 new members to Phi Sigma Alpha - the college's scholastic honorary and highest academic honor offered to its juniors and seniors. To become Phi Sigma Alpha members, juniors must carry a 3.50 grade point average, and seniors a 3.25 GPA. Of the 89 Phi Sigma Alpha inductees this year, 38 are juniors, 48 are seniors and three are Summer/Fall 2006 graduates.

In addition, eight students have been awarded scholarships. Sejla Karalic of Akron (44301), a junior in political science, received the Cathryn Carroll Taliaferro Scholarship; Derek Feuerstein of Lorain, a senior in political science, received the Dr. Sheldon B. Liss Endowed Scholarship; Lauren Mostardi of Akron (44313), a junior in sociology, and Elise Schrop of Cuyahoga Falls, a senior in biology, received Henry W. and Ruth G. Meyer Endowed Scholarships. Individual Phi Sigma Alpha Scholarships went to Anazette Hudson of Cleveland, a junior in sociology; Michael Leovic of Painesville, a junior in biology; Kelly Meyer of Warren, a junior in computer science; and Andrew Riggins of Cuyahoga Falls, a junior in psychology.

Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences is the oldest and largest of the university's degree-granting colleges. It carries the name of the university's first benefactor, John R. Buchtel, who founded Buchtel College in 1870 as a private, liberal arts institution.