University of Akron Research Foundation receives $266,000 in traffic safety grants


The University of Akron Research Foundation (UARF) today announced the Ohio Department of Public Safety's (ODPS) Office of Criminal Justice Services (OCJS) awarded $266,000 in federal traffic safety funding to the Stark County OVI Task Force for federal fiscal year 2012.

"Partnerships are critical to the success of any safety effort and we are committed to working with law enforcement and other safety partners to address traffic safety concerns in Stark County," said Wil Hemker, who will lead the collaborative effort for UARF.

ODPS has identified that impaired driving and non-use of seatbelts is impacting the safety and welfare of the citizens of Stark County. To save lives and improve the quality of life for our citizens, the Stark County OVI Task Force will use the grant funds to conduct low-manpower OVI checkpoints, patrol strategic roadway corridors, and enforce Ohio's zero tolerance safety belt and child safety seat laws throughout Stark County.

The funds are passed through OCJS from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to support the efforts of safety partners statewide and focus on traffic safety priority areas such as restraint use, impaired driving, motorcycle safety and youthful drivers.

Competitive grant proposals are accepted and reviewed by OCJS. The FFY 2012 competitive grant process solicited grant proposals from state agencies, nonprofit organizations, colleges, universities, hospitals, political subdivisions and other interested groups within selected Ohio counties and jurisdictions (based upon the number of fatal crashes).

For more information about the Office of Criminal Justice Services and statewide efforts to improve safety on Ohio's roadways, log on to

Media Contact: Wil Hemker, 330-972-6457.