Department of Finance

The mission of the Department of Finance is to provide a quality education to students that will prepare them for leadership positions within the finance profession in business. Students acquire financial knowledge and skills that can be applied in a variety of environments.

Chair

James B. Thomson, Ph.D.

James B. Thomson, Ph.D.
Title: Chair, Professor of Finance
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972-6329
Email: thomson1@uakron.edu


Finance - Full Time Faculty

Aigbe Akhigbe, Ph.D.

Aigbe Akhigbe, Ph.D.
Title: Professor
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972-6883
Email: aigbe@uakron.edu


Andrew Bernat, JD, MBA, MTax, CPA

Andrew Bernat, JD, MBA, MTax, CPA
Title: Visiting Assistant Professor of Practice & Tax Counsel, Sherwin-Williams
Dept/Program: Department of Finance, Daverio School of Accountancy Advisory Board
Email: awb@uakron.edu


Marcus V. Braga-Alves, Ph.D.

Marcus V. Braga-Alves, Ph.D.
Title: Associate Professor
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972 - 7823
Email: mbragaalves@uakron.edu


John Goodell, Ph.D.

John Goodell, Ph.D.
Title: Associate Professor
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972-5361
Email: johngoo@uakron.edu


John Matejkovic, J.D.

John Matejkovic, J.D.
Title: Associate Professor
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972-8243
Email: jem@uakron.edu


Bhanu Balasubramnian, Ph.D.

Bhanu Balasubramnian, Ph.D.
Title: Associate Professor
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972-6332
Email: bb67@uakron.edu


Jill M. Bisco, Ph.D.

Jill M. Bisco, Ph.D.
Title: Assistant Professor
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972-5436
Email: jbisco@uakron.edu


Eric R. Brisker, Ph.D.

Eric R. Brisker, Ph.D.
Title: Assistant Professor
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972 - 2478
Email: ebrisker@uakron.edu


Suzanne Gradisher, J.D.

Suzanne Gradisher, J.D.
Title: Associate Professor
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972-6330
Email: smg16@uakron.edu


Barry Mulholland, Ph.D.

Barry Mulholland, Ph.D.
Title: Visiting Professor of Practice and Director, CFP Programs
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: 330-972-4524
Email: bmulholland@uakron.edu


Finance - Part Time Faculty

Robert M. Ahonen, CPA, Attorney

Robert M. Ahonen, CPA, Attorney
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Email: ra16@uakron.edu


Joseph Ferrise, J.D.

Joseph Ferrise, J.D.
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Email: jferrise@ch13akron.com


Chuck Grimm
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: 330-972-7302
Email: cgrimm@uakron.edu


Veronica Jiajia Xu, Master of Laws

Veronica Jiajia Xu, Master of Laws
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Email: jxu1@uakron.edu


Rebecca Leiter, MBA
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance


Elizabeth Daiker, M.I.B
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Email: edaiker@uakron.edu


Christopher Finefrock, CFP®, MBA

Christopher Finefrock, CFP®, MBA
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Email: chris.finefrock@valmarksecurities.com


Richard Honeck, J.D.
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Email: rhoneck@uakron.edu


John Judge, MBA
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Email: judgej@uakron.edu


Mario Mastrandrea, MBA

Mario Mastrandrea, MBA
Title: Part Time Faculty
Dept/Program: Department of Finance
Phone: (330) 972-4524
Email: mmastrandrea@uakron.edu