Economics

Welcome To The Department of Economics

It's better to be roughly right than precisely wrong.

– John Maynard Keynes

 

Academic Programs

Contact the Economics Department

Information for Alumni

Spring 2014 Undergraduate Poster Exhibit

Undergraduate college students are invited to present your research in economics at the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland on Friday, May 2, 2014. Federal Reserve economists, research analysits and faculty from other area institutions will review your poster exhibit to learn more about your research. First, second and third place prizes will be awarded. Learn more about participating in this event: Poster competition.

This poster exhibit is being presented by the University of Akron and the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland.


Undergraduate alumnus Michael Morell, who retired as deputy director of the CIA in 2013, is now CBS News' Senior Security Correspondent.  Mike earned his BA in Economics at the University of Akron in 1980 and began his career at the CIA as an Economic Analyst. While at the CIA he continued his education at Georgetown University earning a master's degree in economics and completing the coursework for a doctorate.


New Faculty Member in DPTV Broadcast "Investing in Nature"

Dr. Amanda Weinstein appeared in a Detroit Public Television broadcast, "Great Lakes Now Connect: Investing in Nature," at 10:00 am on August 13th 2013.  You can watch the show online at the Great Lakes Now website.  Dr. Weinstein and four other panelists will discussed: Ecosystem services: Nature’s benefits to people, economies and quality of life.


Two New Faculty Members

The department is pleased to announce the hiring of two new faculty members beginning fall 2013:   Amanda Weinstein and Dr. Haimanti Banerjee.

Amanda Weinstein obtained her Ph.D. this summer from the Department of Agricultural, Environmental and Development EconoAmanda Weinsteinmics at Ohio State University.  Her research focuses on urban and regional economics exploring a wide range of topics from energy policy, to income inequality, to women entrepreneurs in regional economic development.  She will be teaching our Seminar on Regional Economic Analysis & Development class this fall.

Dr. Banerjee obtained her Ph.D. at the University of Iowa Dr. Haimantee Banerjeeconcentrating on the fields of housing markets and macroeconomics.  Her teaching experience ranges from basic principles classes to intermediate and advanced macro theory courses as well as Money and Banking and the Economics of Development and Growth.

Please join us in welcoming these two new faculty members to our department.

 

 

The Dilley Family Endowed ScholarshipMr and Mrs Dilley

The Department of Economics is grateful for David and Lessia Dilley’s gift to establish  The Dilley Family Endowed Scholarship in Economics.  In 1973, David received his Bachelor  of Arts degrees in Economics and Political Science.  He serves on both the Economics Department Advisory Board and The University of Akron National Alumni Board of Directors.


 

A&S Building

Economics Faculty Quick Reference

Spring 2014 Faculty Office Hours

Full-Time Faculty                 

FacultyOfficePhoneEmail

Dr. Haimanti Banerjee

CAS 451

 330-972-7548

 hbanerjee@uakron.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Erickson

CAS 441

330-972- 7973

ee2@uakron.edu
Dr. Zheng Fang CAS 444 330-972-7440  zfang1@uakron.edu
Dr. Sucharita Ghosh CAS 446 330-972- 7549 sghosh1@uakron.edu
Mr. Jay Mutter CAS 452 330-972- 7985 jmutter@uakron.edu
Dr. Steven Myers CAS 445 330-972- 7421 myers@uakron.edu
Dr. Michael Nelson CAS 454A 330-972- 7939 nelson2@uakron.edu
Dr. Francesco Renna CAS 447 330-972- 7411 frenna@uakron.edu
Dr. Amanda Weinstein CAS 450 330-972-7975 aweinstein@uakron.edu

Adjunct Teaching Faculty

FacultyOfficePhoneEmail
Mr. Petter Blazunas CAS 456 330-972-7546  peter.blazunas@gmail.com
Mr. Todd Bragg CAS 456 330-972- 7546 TBragg@portageco.com
Mr. Ben Leo CAS 455 330-972-7546 blm62@zips.uakron.edu
Dr. Randall King CAS 455 330-972-7546 king@uakron.edu
Mr. Michael Tarr CAS 453 330-972- 7133 mtarr@uakron.edu
Ms. Fadwa Nawari CAS 453 330-972- 7133 fnawari@uakron.edu
Dr. Kate Sheppard CAS 455 330-972- 5821 shep@bright.net

Adjunct Research Faculty

Faculty Office Phone E-mail
Dr. Robert McGuire CAS 456 330-867-4172 mcguire@uakron.edu