Welcome To The Department of Economics

It's better to be roughly right than precisely wrong.

– John Maynard Keynes

 


About Us  |  Academics  |  Faculty & Staff  |  Research  |  Careers  |  Scholarships  |  Alumni & Giving 


Academic Programs

Contact the Economics Department

Information for Alumni

Congratulations to Economics Department alum, Tom Dolezal (BA 2009, MA 2011), who was awarded one of six FirstEnergy’s President’s Awards which are given to employees who show leadership, innovation and commitment.  Tom is an Analyst III, Retail Tariff Analysis & Forecasting at FirstEnergy and was recognized for automating and stream-lining a process that calculates metered but unbilled sales and revenue.  Keep up the good work, Tom!!


Economics Department Assistant Professor, Dr. Sucharita Ghosh, was profiled this spring 2015 in the University of Kansas, Department of Economics, Alumni newsletter, The KU Economist.  Dr. Ghosh received bother her master’s (1989) and her doctoral (1993) degrees at KU. Read KU’s profile here.


We congratulate economics department alumnus, Jeff Murphy, whoJeffMurphy2015 has been promoted to the role of Vice President at Dominion East Ohio and will lead the Ohio operations beginning April 1, 2015. Jeff earned both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in economics at the University of Akron. He began his career at the former East Ohio Gas Company in 1986 and has held a variety of positions and leadership roles. In 2008 he became Managing Director of Commercial Operations and in 2014 he became General Manager of Commercial Operations. Jeff continues to be active in guiding the course of the department as a member of the Economics Department Advisory Board.  


Past News

The Dilley Family Endowed ScholarshipMr and Mrs Dilley

The Department of Economics is grateful for David and Lessia Dilley’s gift to establish  The Dilley Family Endowed Scholarship in Economics.  In 1973, David received his Bachelor  of Arts degrees in Economics and Political Science.  He serves on both the Economics Department Advisory Board and The University of Akron National Alumni Board of Directors.

A&S Building

Economics Faculty Quick Reference

Full-Time Faculty

FacultyOfficePhoneEmail

Dr. Banerjee

CAS 451

330-972-7548

hbanerjee@uakron.edu

Dr. Erickson

CAS 441

330-972-7973

ee2@uakron.edu
Dr. Fang CAS 444 330-972-7440 zfang1@uakron.edu
Dr. Ghosh CAS 446 330-972-7549 sghosh1@uakron.edu
Mr. Mutter CAS 452 330-972-7985 jmutter@uakron.edu
Dr. Myers CAS 445 330-972-7421 myers@uakron.edu
Dr. Nelson CAS 454A 330-972-7939 nelson2@uakron.edu
Dr. Renna CAS 447 330-972-7411 frenna@uakron.edu
Dr. Weinstein CAS 450 330-972-7975 aweinstein@uakron.edu

Adjunct Teaching Faculty

FacultyOfficePhoneEmail
Mr. Blazunas CAS 456 330-972-7546 peter.blazunas@gmail.com
Mr. Bragg CAS 456 330-972-7546 TBragg@portageco.com
Ms. Nawari CAS 453 330-972-7133 fnawari@uakron.edu
Mr. Tarr CAS 453 330-972-7133 mtarr@uakron.edu
Dr. Sheppard CAS 455 330-972-5821 shep@bright.net
Mr. Szilagyi CAS 456 330-972-7546 jcs14@zips.uakron.edu

Adjunct Research Faculty

FacultyOfficePhoneEmail
Dr. McGuire CAS 456 mcguire@uakron.edu