Who we are and what we do

The University of Akron

Wayne Hill and Eileen Korey lead the marketing and communications staff. See more about them.


University Communications and Marketing leads the institution-level integrated marketing and communications efforts for the University. We collaborate with communicators across campus to ensure consistent messaging, strategic marketing efforts and strong brand development for the University.

We do this by focusing our efforts on University activities that best reflect the creation of new knowledge, creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship – all for the purpose of providing an environment that enables student success.

Through strategic and creative communications, we demonstrate how the University provides value to its varied constituents and helps fulfill the University’s collective goals toward student success; global relevance; interdisciplinary distinction; strong community engagement; and a vital campus environment.

We are part of the Office of the President; this centralized approach brings aspects of marketing communication together to effectively position the University in a consistent and coordinated manner.

Leading the group are:

  • Eileen Korey, associate vice president for communications and chief communications officer.
    Contact information: korey@uakron.edu or 330-972-8589
     
  • Wayne Hill, associate vice president for marketing and chief marketing officer.
    Contact information: whill@uakron.edu or 330-972-2148.

University Communications and Marketing is in the Administrative Services Building at 185 Mill St.


Creative Services

adThe Creative Services team provides creative concepting, design, editing, photography, print production management and writing services. Our staff produces a wide variety of printed products, ranging from award-winning brochures and student recruitment pieces to advertising and institutional-level annual reports. Any promotional project intended to be seen by external audiences should be approved by Creative Services. The staff also is available for project consultation and logo standards assistance. (To order business cards or letterhead, please contact Mike Szczukowski at 330-972-2542 or mas149@uakron.edu.)



Nancy Sugg Bracher
Manager of Publications
330-972-6402
nbracher@uakron.edu


Jeff Harwell
Graphic Designer
330-972-6670
jharwell@uakron.edu


Lori Meek
Advertising Manager
330-972-7419
lmeek@uakron.edu


Matt Schafer
Senior Writer
330-972-7679
schafem@uakron.edu


Media Relations

card fileAll news media inquiries and media releases should be approved through the Office of Media Relations. Serving as a liaison between the news media and the University community, the Public Relations staff is available for counsel on any matters involving the media or newsworthy events happening on the UA campus.


Dan Minnich
Director of Media Relations
330-972-6476
dminnich@uakron.edu


Denise Henry
PR Representative
330-972-6477
henryd@uakron.edu


Sarah Cupples
PR Representative
330-972-7429
scupples@uakron.edu


New media and internal communication

We tell the University's story through the web, video, social media and internal communications.


Bob Kropff
Senior Director
of Integrated Comm
330-972-7048
bobk@uakron.edu


Joette Dignan Weir
Manager of Editorial Services
330-972-6401
jdweir@uakron.edu

Steve Allen
Senior Multimedia Producer
330-972-7581
sallen@uakron.edu

Jessica Bixby
Social Media Specialist
330-972-5899
jbixby@uakron.edu

Steve Sedlock
Digital Marketing
& Comm Specialist
330-972-7299
sedlock@uakron.edu


Team support


Cindy Gessel
Sr Exec Administrative Asst
330-972-8075
cgessel@uakron.edu


Jan Watts
Administrative Assistant Sr.
330-972-7820
jw10@uakron.edu