University Communications and Marketing

WHO WE ARE AND WHAT WE DO

University Communications and Marketing


University Communications and Marketing leads the institution-level integrated marketing and communications efforts. We collaborate with leaders across campus to ensure consistent messaging, strategic marketing efforts and strong brand development for the University.

We do this by focusing our efforts on university activities that best reflect the creation of new knowledge, creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship — all to provide an environment that encourages student success.

Through strategic and creative communications, we demonstrate how the university provides value to its varied constituents and helps fulfill the University’s collective goals toward student success; global relevance; interdisciplinary distinction; strong community engagement; and a vital campus environment.

We bring aspects of marketing communication together to effectively position the university in a consistent and coordinated manner.

University Communications and Marketing is in the Administrative Services Building at 185 Mill St.


Directory

UCM LEADERSHIP

Tammy Ewin
Vice President, Chief Communication and Marketing Officer
330-972-8075
tewin@uakron.edu


Marketing Communications

We develop, implement and manage targeted marketing primarily for recruitment and retention of students.

Advertising – General Promotion – Promotional Events – Marketing Plans – Collateral – Graphic Design – Branding – Brand Guidelines – Promotional Items – Traffic Management – Trademarking – Licensing – Photography – Enrollment Social Media

Sarah Steidl
Senior Director of Marketing Communications
330-972-8142
sarah45@uakron.edu

Matt Schafer
Director of Creative Services
330-972-7679
schafem@uakron.edu

Lisa Craig
Senior Marketing and Communications Specialist
330-972-7429
lmc91@uakron.edu

Alex Knisely
Marketing and Communications Specialist
330-972-6477
aknisely@uakron.edu


External Communications

We develop, implement and manage communication and promotion to external audiences to support marketing function and University strategic priorities.

Media Relations – Crisis Communications – Presidential Email/Speeches/Talking Points – Institutional Social Media – Video – Style Guide – Publication Management – Content – Public Relations – Strategic Priorities

Cristine D. Boyd
Senior Director of External Communications
330-972-6476
cboyd@uakron.edu
330-687-9269

Steve Allen
Senior Multimedia Producer
330-972-7581
sallen@uakron.edu

Brianne Angell (Bucks)
Social Media Specialist
330-972-6867
bea22@uakron.edu


Digital Communications

We develop, implement and manage website design/content and digital communication outreach for internal audiences.

Digest – Zipmail – Campus Email Messaging – UA Mobile – E-Newsletters – Emergency Messaging – Website Design – Website Content Development and Maintenance

Steve Sedlock
Digital Marketing and Communication Manager
330-972-7299
sedlock@uakron.edu

Krystal Clemente Ahmed
Web Editor & Designer
330-972-7419
kdc36@uakron.edu

Anthony Serpette
Director of Web Services
330-972-7758
serpette@uakron.edu

Richard Newsome
Back End Web Developer
330-972-8268
rnewsome@uakron.edu

Steve Patton
Front End Web Developer
330-972-6523
spatton@uakron.edu


Team support

Pam Duncan
Administrative Coordinator/Communication Specialist
330-972-8075
pjd19@uakron.edu

CONTACT US

Administrative Services Building (see on map)
185 E. Mill St.
Akron, OH 44325-0604

330-972-8075