University Communications and Marketing

WHO WE ARE AND WHAT WE DO

University Communications and Marketing

hill-wayne-2016

Wayne Hill


University Communications and Marketing leads the institution-level integrated marketing and communications efforts. We collaborate with leaders across campus to ensure consistent messaging, strategic marketing efforts and strong brand development for the University.

We do this by focusing our efforts on university activities that best reflect the creation of new knowledge, creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship — all to provide an environment that encourages student success.

Through strategic and creative communications, we demonstrate how the university provides value to its varied constituents and helps fulfill the University’s collective goals toward student success; global relevance; interdisciplinary distinction; strong community engagement; and a vital campus environment.

We bring aspects of marketing communication together to effectively position the university in a consistent and coordinated manner.

Wayne Hill, chief communications & marketing officer/associate vice president, leads the group. Contact: whill@uakron.edu or 330-972-2148.

University Communications and Marketing is in the Administrative Services Building at 185 Mill St.


Marketing and Creative Services

The Creative Services team provides creative concepting, design, editing, photography, print production management and writing services. Our staff produces a wide variety of printed products, ranging from award-winning brochures and student recruitment pieces to advertising and institutional-level annual reports. Any promotional project intended to be seen by external audiences should be approved by Creative Services. The staff also is available for project consultation and logo standards assistance.

Matt Schafer
Director, Marketing & Creative Services
330-972-7679
schafem@uakron.edu

Sarah Steidl
Director of Marketing & Communication
330-972-8142
sarah45@uakron.edu

Joe Ryan
Brand Manager
330-972-7874
joe.ryan@zips.uakron.edu

Nancy Sugg Bracher
Manager of Publications
330-972-6402
nbracher@uakron.edu

Jeff Harwell
Graphic Designer
330-972-6670
jharwell@uakron.edu


Media Relations

All news media inquiries and media releases should be approved through the Office of Media Relations. Serving as a liaison between the news media and the University community, the Public Relations staff is available for counsel on any matters involving the media or newsworthy events happening on the UA campus.

Dan Minnich
Director of Media Relations
330-972-6476
dminnich@uakron.edu

Lisa Craig
PR Representative
330-972-7429
lmc91@uakron.edu


Digital and Internal Communication

We tell the University's story through the web, video, social media and internal communications.

Bob Kropff
Senior Director of Integrated Communications
330-972-7048
bobk@uakron.edu

Steve Allen
Senior Multimedia Producer
330-972-7581
sallen@uakron.edu

Joette Dignan Weir
Manager of Editorial Services
330-972-6401
jdweir@uakron.edu

Meghan Meeker
Social Media Specialist
330-972-6867
mmeeker2@uakron.edu

Steve Sedlock
Digital Marketing and Communications Specialist
330-972-7299
sedlock@uakron.edu

Eric Kreider
Director of Web Services
330-972-5303
ewk@uakron.edu

Chris Cochran
Senior Web Developer
330-972-8268
ccochra@uakron.edu

Miklos Janosi
Senior Web Developer
330-972-8640
mjanosi@uakron.edu

Steve Patton
Front End Web Developer
330-972-6523
spatton@uakron.edu

Anthony Serpette
Web Developer
330-972-7758
serpette@uakron.edu


Team support

Pam Duncan
Administrative Assistant Senior
330-972-8075
pjd19@uakron.edu

Jan Watts
Administrative Assistant Senior
330-972-7820
jw10@uakron.edu