About the School

Founded in 1967, the School of Nursing has a long tradition of excellence. The School offers multiple educational programs designed to meet the needs of students aspiring to become professional nurses and practicing professional nurses seeking career and professional advancement.

Located on The University of Akron campus in Mary Gladwin Hall, the School offers several degrees

  • Baccalaureate program (BSN)
  • Second degree BSN (Accelerated BSN) for students who hold at least a bachelor's degree in an area other than nursing
  • BSN for RN sequence for registered nurse graduates of associate degree and diploma programs
  • BSN for LPN sequence for licensed practical nurses aspiring to become professional nurses
  • Master of Science in Nursing (MSN)
  • MSN for RN sequence for registered nurse graduates of associate degree and diploma programs who meet graduate standards.

The University of Akron offers a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) program. In addition, The University of Akron and Kent State University offer a Joint Ph.D. in Nursing (JPDN) program, a doctoral program with a single, unified doctoral nursing faculty and student body.

The School employs faculty with a broad range of research and clinical backgrounds.

The School is approved by the Ohio Board of Nursing and fully accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).

Learn more about the School of Nursing.


Contact Us

School of Nursing
209 Carroll Street (show on map)
Akron, OH 44325-3701

Phone: 330.972.6674
Fax: 330.972.5445
E-mail: nursinginfo@uakron.edu

Faculty and Staff Profiles

Contact information for individual faculty and staff is located on their profile pages.

News and Events

The School of Nursing is newsworthy.  Follow the link below to our news archive, where we publish items that identify the School of Nursing as an important part of the local and regional health care discussion.

Learn more about School of Nursing News and Events.

Sigma Theta Tau Delta Omega Chapter

STTI logoDelta Omega is the University of Akron chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International.  Sigma Theta Tau International is the national honor society for nursing whose mission is to support the learning, knowledge, and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide.

Learn more about Sigma Theta Tau, Delta Omega Chapter.

Commitment to Diversity

The School of Nursing prepares nurses to be culturally competent in accord with the core values of the profession. Nursing values diversity in all forms, including national origin, race, color, religion, sex, age, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or veteran status; and seeks to recruit, retain and graduate a diverse student population. The School of Nursing advances excellence in student learning, collaborative clinical service delivery, community service, and the scholarship of practice, integration, application, and discovery.

Non-Smoking Policy

Smoking, in any form, is harmful. The College of Health Professions, as part of its mission, was created to support human well-being and smoking runs contrary to this mission.

The College of Health Professions and each of its Schools, prohibits smoking in any form including cigarettes, electronic cigarettes, cigars, pipes and any similar devices – in its classrooms, labs, common areas, and buildings both inside and within 25 feet of the structure.