UA Office of Research Administration

The ORA is located in the historic Polsky Building in downtown Akron, between S. Main and S. High Streets. We have a secure entrance from E. State Street (on the south side of the building).  University parking is available in the Polsky deck and in Lot #66. Also, city of Akron metered parking is usually available on State Street.

ORA Mailing Address, Location Info

U.S. Mail

The University of Akron

Office of Research Administration

Akron, OH  44325-2102

Campus Mail ORA +2102
Campus Location Polsky Building, Suite 284
Driving (GPS) Address

225 S. Main Street, Suite 284

Akron, OH  44308

ORA Contact Information





Home page:


College Department(s) Pre-Award

Financial (Post-Award)

BCAS All Becky Campbell James Shultz
CAST All Sharon McWhorter Stephanie McElfresh
CBA All Sharon McWhorter Kim Kemp
ED All Sharon McWhorter Kim Kemp
ENG Biomedical Becky Campbell Stephanie McElfresh
Chemical & Biomolecular Valerie Boaz Stephanie McElfresh


Sharon McWhorter Kim Kemp
Electrical & Computer Valerie Boaz Stephanie McElfresh
Dean's Office Valerie Boaz Stephanie McElfresh
Mechanical  Valerie Boaz Stephanie McElfresh
CHP All Becky Campbell Kim Kemp
PSPE All Sharon McWhorter James Shultz


All Sharon McWhorter Kim Kemp


All Sharon McWhorter Kim Kemp

Williams Honors College

All Sharon McWhorter Kim Kemp
Name Ext. Email

Boaz, Valerie, Sr. Grant Coordinator (pre-award)    

  • CBE, ECE, Mechanical Engineering, and the ENG Dean's Office
7694 vboaz@uakron.edu

Campbell, Becky, Sr. Grant Coordinator (pre-award)

  • BCAS (all)
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • CHP (all)
  • all internships/CIGAs
8073 rac2@uakron.edu

Evans, Kathee, Asst. to AVP/Coordinator

8579 krs1@uakron.edu
Hergenrather, Diane, Research Billing Systems Analyst 6816 dhergen@uakron.edu

Kemp, Kim, Sr. Grant Accountant (post-award)

  • CBA
  • CHP (all)
  • Civil Engineering
  • ED (all)
  • LAW (all)
  • WAYNE (all)
  • all other departments
  • CIGAs for the above units
6608 ksw9@uakron.edu

McElfresh, Stephanie, Mgr. Financial Research Administration

  • CAST (all)
  • College of Engineering EXCEPT Civil
  • CIGAs for the above units
2461 smcelfresh@uakron.edu

McWhorter, Sharon, Director, Pre-Award Research Administration

  • IRB Administrator
8311 sm48@uakron.edu

VACANT, Sr. Grant Coordinator (pre-award) Contact Sharon McWhorter

  • CAST (all)
  • CBA (all)
  • ED (all)
  • Civil Engineering
  • PSPE (all)
  • Law
  • Wayne
  • all other units 


Rodgers, Christie, Mgr. Fiscal Research Administration



Shultz, James, Grant Accountant

  • BCAS
  • PSPE (all)
  • CIGAs for the above units
6459 jms186@uakron.edu

Smith, Lois, Grant Accountant

  • all corrosion awards
6567 lois1@uakron.edu
Watkins, Kathryn, Assistant Vice President for Research 6764 kwatkin@uakron.edu

Student Assistants, general office and pre-award

  • Taylor Golston
  • Joie-Rose Stangle
7666 RschSrvsGA8@uakron.edu

Student Assistants, general office and post-award

  • Samantha Franco
  • Alyssa Reese
7774 RschSrvsGA9@uakron.edu