EX[L] Center's Experiential Learning Awards

2019-2020 Award Recipients

See details about the award recipients and why they were chosen

The Spirit of Experiential Learning Award

Dr. Martha Santos, Juan Contreras, Lenin Guerrero Maldonado, the students in the “Salsa History” unclass, and the students in the “Video Production” class

Spirit of EXL Learning Recognitions

• Dr. Lisa Beiswenger and Mr. Andrew Henry

• Dr. Hillary Nunn

• Dr. Heather Braun

• Downtown Akron Partnership

Faculty-Community Partnership Award

Dr. Kathy Feltey, Dr. Rebecca Erickson, Dr. Susie Kushner-Benson, Dr. Gary Holliday, Dr. Elisa Gargarella, their class and unclass students, and the teachers and students of the I Promise School, and the UA student group Zips Precious Plastics (ZPP)

Student-Community Partnership Award

• Engineering Service Design Team

• Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC)

EXL Community Champion

Nicole Mullet, Executive Director of ArtsNow

EXL Faculty Champion

• Dr. Julie Cajigas

• Dr. Ruel McKenzie

EXL Student Champion

Gavin DeMali, Geosciences

EXL Administrative Champion

Dr. Linda Subich, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences

EXL Staff Champion

Mr. Andrew Henry

EXL Award for Excellence in Learning-landscape Transformation

Myers School of Art’s 2020 graduating graphic design seniors and their art director, Kimberly Wengerd