Share on Google+

Management Faculty Win Prestigious Award


Dr. Ken Aupperle Mukherjee

Dr. Kenneth Aupperle, professor of management and Dr. Debmalya Mukherjee, assistant professor of management, along with co-author, Dr. William Acar of Kent State University, have won the John F. Mee Outstanding Contribution to Management History Award for their paper entitled "Chandler Revisited: A Historical Financial Analysis of Chandler's Own Matched and Mismatched Firms. "

The paper empirically examines Dr. Alfred Chandler's original efficiency thesis that proposes that firms, which match their structure to their strategy, will become economically more efficient than “mismatched” firms. Chandler’s own firms are analyzed financially as their structure evolves through successive phases of being matched to their strategy, mismatched, and then finally matched again. Over 70 longitudinal tests are performed, yielding mostly statistically significant results. These tests surprisingly suggest that mismatched firms generally outperform firms that match structure to strategy.

The award will be presented at the Academy of Management Conference in Montreal, Canada on August 9, 2010.

The Academy of Management is a professional association of scholars dedicated to creating and disseminating knowledge about management and organizations. It was established in 1936 and is the oldest and largest scholarly management association in the world.