Outstanding Junior and Senior History Majors Honored


The Department of History is pleased to announce the winners of our annual awards for outstanding junior and senior history majors, Bridget Sciscento and Matt Lang.

The winner of this year’s Summerfield Baldwin Award is Honors student Bridget Sciscento. The award, established in the memory of history professor Dr. Summerfield Baldwin III, recognizes an exceptional major in the junior year who intends to pursue further study in history beyond the baccalaureate degree.

Senior Matt Lang, who spent Spring Semester of his junior year studying history at the University of Wolverhampton in England, is the recipient of the annual David C. Riede Award. The award, which honors a senior history major with an outstanding academic record, is named for David C. Riede, Professor Emeritus of History.

Congratulations to both of this year’s winners!